Contact Us

listen to Neil Young’s lost 1976 acoustic album, ‘Hitchhiker’

Neil Young

Next week (9/8), Neil Young will release his lost 1976 acoustic album Hitchhiker. The album features early versions of songs that later appeared on albums, including “Pocahontas,” “Powderfinger,” and “Ride My Llama,” (Rust Never Sleeps), “Human Highway” (Comes A Time), “The Old Country Waltz” (American Stars ‘n Bars), “Captain Kennedy” (Hawks & Doves), “Campaigner” (the Decade compilation), and the title track, which wasn’t on a studio album until 2010’s Le Noise. It’s also got two previously-unreleased songs, “Hawaii” and “Give Me Strength.”

Neil recorded the storied album in one day with producer David Briggs, armed with no more than an acoustic guitar, piano, and harmonica. This new release has post-production by John Hanlon. Listen to the whole album below, via NPR.

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!