Contact Us

Mew share “Witness” remix by Metronomy bassist Olugbenga (listen); North American tour starts this week

by Bill Pearis

Mew Remix

Mew‘s North American tour with The Dodos starts this week on the West Coast, making its way east and will hit NYC on October 10 at Webster Hall. Tickets for the NYC show are still available. Updated tour dates are listed below.

Meanwhile, Metronomy bassist and Mew megafan Olugbenga Adelekan has remixed Mew’s “Witness” which is off of the band’s current album, +/-. He’s stripped the soaring original of everything but the vocal, while using the odd, loping beat of the verse as starting point, taking the song into a totally different sonic arena. Olugbenga told us about the remix and his love for the band:

I caught the video for The “Zookeeper’s Boy” on MTV2 one day after school. Then I heard “Apocalypso.” I have been hooked on the music of Mew ever since then. There is always a giddy smile on my face as I follow the strange perambulations of this music that should not work and yet works so well. The indelible melodies play a big part. I could have remixed any song from + -, because I love this album just as much as the others. I had a lot of fun with “Witness” and I’m honoured that people will get a chance to hear it

Olugbenga’s “Witness” remix premieres in this post and you can stream it below.

Mew – 2015 Tour Dates
Thu 17 Sep 2015 The North Park Theatre San Diego, CA, US *
Fri 18 Sep 2015 The Observatory Santa Ana, CA, US *
Sat 19 Sep 2015 Sayers Club, SLS Las Vegas Las Vegas, NV, US *
Fri 25 Sep 2015 Fonda Theatre Hollywood, CA, US *
Sat 26 Sep 2015 The Fillmore San Francisco, CA, US *
Mon 28 Sep 2015 Wonder Ballroom Portland, OR, US *
Tue 29 Sep 2015 Venue Vancouver, BC, Canada *
Wed 30 Sep 2015 Neumo’s Seattle, WA, US *
Fri 02 Oct 2015 The Complex Salt Lake City, UT, US *
Sat 03 Oct 2015 Gothic Theatre Englewood, CO, US *
Mon 05 Oct 2015 Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis, MN, US *
Tue 06 Oct 2015 Metro Chicago, IL, US *
Wed 07 Oct 2015 Lee’s Palace Toronto, ON, Canada *
Fri 09 Oct 2015 9:30 Club Washington, DC, US *
Sat 10 Oct 2015 Webster Hall New York, NY, US *
Sun 11 Oct 2015 Paradise Rock Club Boston, MA, US *
Wed 21 Oct 2015 Oslo Konserthus Oslo, Norway
Thu 22 Oct 2015 Griegsalen, Grieghallen Bergen, Norway
Sat 24 Oct 2015 Samfundet Trondheim, Norway
Sun 25 Oct 2015 Sentrum Scene Oslo, Norway
Mon 26 Oct 2015 Tragårn Gothenburg, Sweden
Tue 27 Oct 2015 Arenan, Fryshuset Stockholm, Sweden
Thu 29 Oct 2015 The Circus Helsinki, Finland
Wed 04 Nov 2015 Falconer Salen Frederiksberg, Denmark
Thu 05 Nov 2015 Scandinavian Congress Center Aarhus, Denmark
Fri 06 Nov 2015 Heineken Music Hall Amsterdam, Netherlands
Fri 20 Nov 2015 —
Mon 23 Nov 2015 Festival Corona Capital 2015 Mexico City, Mexico
Wed 25 Nov 2015 TSUTAYA O-EAST Tokyo, Japan
Thu 26 Nov 2015 TSUTAYA O-EAST Tokyo, Japan
Fri 27 Nov 2015 Shinsaibashi Soma Osaka, Japan
Wed 02 Dec 2015 Manning Bar Sydney, NSW, Australia
Thu 03 Dec 2015 Max Watt’s Melbourne Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Fri 04 Dec 2015 Max Watt’s Brisbane Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Sun 13 Dec 2015 TivoliVredenburg Utrecht, Netherlands
Mon 14 Dec 2015 Village Underground London, UK
Tue 15 Dec 2015 Village Underground London, UK
* w/ The Dodos

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!