Contact Us

Mitski announces new album ‘Puberty 2′ & tour, shares “Your Best American Girl”

Mitski
photo by Ebru Yildiz

Mitski recently signed to Dead Oceans to release the followup to 2014’s Bury Me At Makeout Creek, and now the new album has been announced. It’s called Puberty 2, and it’s due out June 17 via her new label home (pre-order). The first single, “Your Best American Girl,” is instantly a sign that this album is one to look out for. It picks up where her last album left off, but it’s fuller sounding in every way. The production is bigger, the rock parts are louder, and it’s more heavily layered than anything on Makeout Creek. It doesn’t just “go big” though; Mitski’s intimate side shines here too. Listen, and check out the artwork and tracklist, below (via Pitchfork).

Mitski recently played a solo show on Valentine’s Day, and now she’s got a full tour announced for the spring and summer (after SXSW). Like at past shows, her band’s lineup for this one has Callan Dwan on guitar and Casey Weissbuch (also of Colleen Green’s band and ex-Diarrhea Planet) on drums.

The tour begins in Mitski’s hometown of NYC for her largest headlining show here yet on June 20 at Bowery Ballroom. Tickets for that show go on sale Friday (3/4) at noon. All dates are listed below.

Mitski Puberty 2

Tracklist:
1. Happy
2. Dan the Dancer
4. Fireworks
3. Once More To See You
5. Your Best American Girl
6. I Bet on Losing Dogs
7. My Body’s Made of Crushed Little Stars
8. Thursday Girl
9. A Loving Feeling
10. Crack Baby
11. A Burning Hill

Mitski — 2016 Tour Dates
Sat. March 12 – McAllen, TX @ Galax Z Fair V at Yerberia
Wed. March 16 – Austin, TX @ Hype Hotel – YVYNYL x S&S x Hype Machine — 3pm
Thu. March 17 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda – Secretly Group & Friends– 10pm
Fri. March 18 – Austin, TX @ PEN – Portals SXSW 2016 – 6:30pm — solo show
Fri. March 18 – Austin, TX @ Hole in the Wall – Stereogum x Exploding In Sound’s Austin Invasion 2 – 9:30pm
Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ Studium – She Shreds x Punctum Records Presents – 5:30pm
*** more SXSW performances to be announced ***
Sun. April 17 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique – solo show
Tues. April 19 – London, UK @ Birthdays – solo show
Thu. April 21 – Paris, FR @ La Mécanique Ondulatoire w/ Twin Peaks) – solo show
Sat. April 23 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Basement – solo show
Mon. June 20 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Wed. June 22 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Thu. June 23 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Fri. June 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Sat. June 25 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Tue. June 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade: Purgatory
Wed. June 29 – Birmingham, AL @ The Syndicate Lounge
Fri. July 1 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s Downtown
Sun. June 26 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
Sat. July 2 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder
Sun. July 3 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Tue. July 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge
Wed. July 6 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Constellation Room
Fri. July 8 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom Of The Hill
Sat. July 9 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club
Mon. July 11 – Portland, OR @ Analog Theater
Thu. July 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Fri. July 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tue. July 19 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Fri. July 22 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Tue. July 12 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Wed. July 13 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Sat. July 16 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. July 20 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. July 23 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!