Contact Us

more Daptone news (Budos Band dates, behind the scenes w/ Charles Bradley, Sharon Jones, Del-Rays tonight & more)

Sharon Jones & Lee Fields at Prospect Park (more by David Andrako)
Sharon Jones

It’s only been a few days since Lee Fields funked up Bowery Ballroom and already lots more Daptone updates to report on!

In addition to their previously discussed date with the purple one at MSG on 1/18, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings have a proper set of East Coast dates scheduled a few weeks later – none in NYC, but there’s the 1/29 show at Count Basie Theatre in Red Bank, NJ, and a CT show on 2/12. Charles Bradley also plays that show, and others this month with Sharon Jones. He also has his own previously discussed appearance scheduled for 1/25 at Southpaw (tickets are still on sale).

The full lineup of Charles’s Southpaw show also includes the Menahan Street Band, “The Electric Sound Of Johnny Arrow” featuring Cochemea Gastelum, DJ Honeydripper, DJ Dave Griffith. Members of the Menahan Street Band also play in The Del Reys who play with Eli Paperboy Reed at Brooklyn Bowl TONIGHT (1/12). Spiritkid is also on the Finger on the Pulse-presented “Soul Bowl” show. Tickets are still on sale.

Charles Bradley recently posted a video for “The World (Is Going Up In Flames)”, check out a behind the scenes video for that clip below and look for a longer version to appear on his Facebook later this week.

The Budos Band (who also share members with Menahan Street Band and The Del Reys) have various US tour dates scheduled through June. The band plays NYC again on March 11th at The Bell House. Tickets are on sale.

Prince recently announced another show at MSG on February 7th (no opener info yet). Tickets for the new show go on presale at 11AM on 1/13, and general sale at 10AM on 1/15.

All tour dates and some video is below…


Charles Bradley – “The World” Behind The Scenes

Charles Bradley – The World (Is Going Up In Flames)

THE BUDOS BAND – 2011 TOUR DATES
Fri Jan 14 – LA, CA – El Rey Theatre
Sat Jan 15 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
Sun Jan 16 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
Sat Feb 19 – Charlottesville, VA — The Southern
Sun Feb 20 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
Tues Feb 22 – Atlanta, GA – The Earl
Wed Feb 23 – Asheville, NC – Grey Eagle
Thu Feb 24 – Nashville, TN – Exit/In
Fri Feb 25 – Louisville, KY – Headliners
Sat Feb 26 – Columbus, OH – Outland Live
Fri Mar 11 – Brooklyn, NY – The Bell House
Sat Apr 16 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom
Mon Apr 18 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry
Tue Apr 19 – Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon
Wed Apr 20 – Milwaukee, WI – Turner Hall Ballroom
Thu Apr 21 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean
Fri Apr 22 – Bloomington, IN – Bluebird
Sat Apr 23 – Ann Arbor, MI – Blind Pig
Sat Apr 30 – Schuylkill Haven, PA – Some Kind of Jam 6
Sat Jun 4 – Ozark, AR – Wakarusa


SHARON JONES & THE DAP KINGS – 2011 TOUR DATES
Tue Jan 18 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden*
Fri Jan 21 – Portsmouth, NH – The Music Hall **
Sat Jan 22 – Albany, NY – Hart Theatre @ The Egg **
Sun Jan 23 – Poughkeepsie, NY – Bardavon 1869 Opera House **
Thu Jan 27 – York, PA – Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center **
Fri Jan 28 – Wilmington, DE – The Grand Opera House
Sat Jan 29 – Red Bank, NJ — Count Basie Theatre **
Thu Feb 3 – Ithaca, NY – State Theatre of Ithaca **
Fri Feb 4 – Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom **
Sat Feb 5 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom **
Thu Feb 10 – Pawtucket, RI – The Met
Fri Feb 11 – Burlington, VT – Higher Ground
Sat Feb 12 – Hartford, CT – The Webster
Thu Mar 24 – Savannah, GA – Savannah Music Festival, Trustees Theater
Fri Jun 3 – Ozark, AR – Wakarusa
* with Prince
** with Charles Bradley


CHARLES BRADLEY – 2011 TOUR DATES
01-21 Portsmouth, NH The Music Hall *
01-22 Albany, NY Hart Theatre at The Egg *
01-23 Poughkeepsie, NY Bardavon Opera House *
01-25 Brooklyn, NY – Southpaw (headlining record release show)
01-27 York, PA Strand-Capitol PAC *
01-28 Wilmington, DE Grand Opera House *
01-29 Red Bank, NJ Count Basie Theater *
02-03 Ithaca, NY State Theater NY *
02-04 Buffalo, NY Town Ballroom *
02-05 Cleveland, OH Beachland Ballroom *
02-17 Paris, FR La Maroquinerie #
02-18 Utrecht, NL Tivoli #
02-19 Amsterdam, NL Paradiso #
02-20 Gent, BE Vooruit #
02-21 Tourcoing, FR Le Grand Mix #
02-22 Nantes, FR L’Olympic #
02-24 Clermont-Ferrand, FR La Cooperative de Mai #
02-25 Montpellier, FR Le Jam #
02-26 Marseille, FR Espace Julien #
02-27 Barcelona, SP Sala Salamandra #
03-01 Bordeaux, FR La Rocher #
03-02 Poitiers, FR Le Confort Moderne #
04-16 Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom ^
04-18 Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry ^
04-19 Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon ^
04-20 Milwaukee, WI – Turner Hall Ballroom ^
04-21 Chicago, IL – Subterranean ^
04-22 Bloomington, IN – Bluebird ^
04-23 Ann Arbor, MI – Blind Pig ^

* with Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
# with Lee Fields and the Expressions
^ with The Budos Band

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!