Contact Us

Morrissey’s new covers LP features Ed Droste, Billie Joe Armstrong, more (listen to “It’s Over”)


Morrissey has detailed his new all-covers album, California Son, which is out May 24 via Etienne/BMG. That’s the cover art above. Produced once again by Joe Chiccarelli, the record also features a bunch of guest appearances, including Billie Joe Armstrong (Green Day), Ed Droste (Grizzly Bear), Sameer Gadhia (Young the Giant), Petra Haden (That Dog), Lydia Night (The Regrettes) and, on his cover of Roy Orbison’s “It’s Over,” singer-songwriter LP. “When I would think of Morrissey and his music it was always with great respect and appreciation as I’m sure is the case with many of his fans,” says LP of their collaboration. “However, I soon realized when I hung out with him and he played me all the songs he was putting on this record that behind this was the heart of an audiophile and a deep fan of his own musical heroes.” You can listen to “It’s Over,” which Morrissey does justice to (with some otherworldly vocals via LP), below.

You can check out the full tracklist, which includes songs by Jobriath, Bob Dylan, Carly Simon, Jobriath, Buffy Sainte Marie, Phil Ochs, Laura Nyro, Joni Mitchell, and more, below.

Morrissey just announced his first tour of Canada in over 15 years. All dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Morrissey – California Son tracklist:
1. Morning Starship (Jobriath) with Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear
2. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell) with Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene
3. Only a Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan) with Petra Haden
4. Suffer the Little Children (Buffy St Marie)
5. Days of Decision (Phil Ochs) with Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant
6. It’s Over (Roy Orbison) with LP
7. Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension) with Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day & Lydia Night of The Regrettes
8. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
9. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon) with Petra Haden
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

Morrissey – 2019 Tour Dates
APR 14 Orpheum Theatre Sunday, 7:00PM Vancouver, Canada
APR 15 Orpheum Theatre Monday, 7:00PM Vancouver, Canada
APR 17 Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium Wednesday, 7:00PM Calgary, Canada
APR 18 Northern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium Thursday, 7:00PM Edmonton, Canada
APR 20 TCU Place Saturday, 7:00PM Saskatoon, Canada
APR 22 Centennial Concert Hall Monday, 7:00PM Winnipeg, Canada
APR 26 Sony Centre for the Performing Arts Friday, 7:00PM Toronto, Canada
APR 27 Sony Centre for the Performing Arts Saturday, 7:00PM Toronto, Canada
APR 29 Mtelus Monday, 7:00PM Montréal, Canada

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!