Contact Us

Movielife’s Vinnie Caruana releasing new solo EP, touring (stream a track)

Vinnie Caruana
photo by Joe Martin

Not only does The Movielife/I Am The Avalanche frontman Vinnie Caruana have a new band with Sammy Siegler called Constant Elevation, he’s also releasing a new solo EP, Aging Frontman, on October 4 via Know Hope Records (pre-order). The EP was produced and mixed by I Am The Avalanche drummer Brett “The Ratt” Romnes, who also drummed on it, and Vinnie says this is a very personal EP:

This is as personal as I’ve ever been with the listener. The people who listen to my music know me. I’ve personally met most of them at shows and we have a relationship. This is just another layer. I’m still looking for answers. We all are. We have to keep finding the beauty in life, no matter how hard life can sometimes make it for us. I want to keep being the best version of myself until I die.

The first single is “Better,” which sees Vinnie exploring folk-tinged alternative rock, and you can already tell from this song how personal and introspective this EP is. It’s clearly an emotional, passionate song, and that comes through not just in the lyrics but also in how Vinnie really belts it on the chorus. It’s powerful stuff. Vinnie explains:

“Better” is speaking to my friends, my family, my wife, the people that come to see me sing. In the end, when I have no more breath, have I brought joy? Have a made you proud? I’ve made so many mistakes in my life. We all have. I want to be doing everything right until I die, to begin to make up for the wrongs. I want to continue to grow and be there for you.

Listen below.

Vinnie is also supporting the album on a tour where he’ll play a mix of Movielife, I Am The Avalanche, and solo songs. Spirit Houses (Mikey Ireland of I Am The Avalanche) is opening.

The tour starts at Brooklyn’s Gold Sounds on October 5 (tickets), and there’s also an Asbury Park show later on at Wonder Bar on October 24. All dates are listed below.

Before Vinnie’s solo tour begins, Constant Elevation make their live debut on September 5 at Throne Watches (200 Morgan Ave in Brooklyn).

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Vinnie Caruana Aging Frontman

Tracklist
1. Better
2. Alone
3. Dying in the Living Room
4. I Love You, Please Watch Over Us
5. Providence
6. Tex “The Rock” Johnson

Vinnie Caruana tour

Vinnie Caruana — 2019 Tour Dates
Sat, Oct 5, 2019 Brooklyn, NY Gold Sounds
Wed, Oct 9, 2019 San Francisco, CA Cafe du Nord
Fri, Oct 11, 2019 Portland, OR Hawthorne Lounge
Sat, Oct 12, 2019 Seattle, WA Funhouse
Mon, Oct 14, 2019 Bozeman, MT Whistle Pig Korean
Wed, Oct 16, 2019 St. Paul, MN Amsterdam Bar & Hall
Thu, Oct 17, 2019 Chicago, IL Beat Kitchen
Fri, Oct 18, 2019 Detroit, MI El Club Back Room (early show)
Sat, Oct 19, 2019 Lakewood, OH Mahall’s Locker Room
Mon, Oct 21, 2019 New Haven, CT Cafe Nine
Tue, Oct 22, 2019 Boston, MA Great Scott
Thu, Oct 24, 2019 Asbury Park, NJ Wonder Bar
Fri, Oct 25, 2019 Philadelphia, PA Bourbon & Branch
Sat, Oct 26, 2019 Washington, DC Songbyrd (early show)
Sun, Oct 27, 2019 Norfolk, VA The Taphouse Grill
Tue, Oct 29, 2019 Atlanta ,GA The EARL
Wed, Oct 30, 2019 Orlando, FL Soundbar
Fri, Nov 1, 2019 Dallas, TX Three Links
Sat, Nov 2, 2019 Austin, TX Mohawk (small room)
Thu, Nov 7, 2019 Phoenix, AZ Rebel Lounge
Fri, Nov 8, 2019 San Diego, CA HOB Voodoo Room
Sat, Nov 9, 2019 Los Angeles, CA Moroccan Lounge (early show)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!