Contact Us

new Das Racist album info, new song & tour w/ Despot & Danny Brown (Bowery Ballroom & free Afro-Punk fest included)

Relax

Das Racist, who DJ’d PS1 this past weekend, are releasing their first official album Relax on September 13 via Greedhead (artwork above). The album is the followup to the two mixtapes they released lat year, Shut Up, Dude and Sit Down, Man. Relax features production from Das Racist themselves, Patrick Wimberly, Anand Wilder (of Yeasayer), El-P, Diplo, Rostam (of Vampire Weekend), Blood Diamonds (who are playing Glasslands soon), and others. The album also features guest spots from Danny Brown, Despot, and Bikram Singh. Check out the lead track “Michael Jackson” along with the track’s artwork below.

Das Racist at Pitchfork Festival (more by Dominick Mastrangelo)
Das Racist

Das Racist have some upcoming dates this summer, including the free Mad Decent Block Party in Philly and the free Afro-Punk Fest in Brooklyn’s Commodore Barry Park on August 27. The two day Afro-Punk Fest, which Das Racist were recently added to, also has Cee Lo, Janelle Monae, Toro y Moi, Fishbone and many more. Schedule still TBA.

Das Racist will kick off a fall tour with Despot and Danny Brown at Bowery Ballroom in NYC on September 12. Tickets for the Bowery show, which is also the record release show, go on sale Friday (8/5) at noon.

All Das Racist dates, “Michael Jackson”, and tracklist below…


Das Racist – “Michael Jackson”
Das Racist – Michael Jackson by Transdreamer

Michael Jackson

Relax Tracklist:
01 Relax
02 Michael Jackson
03 Brand New Dance
04 Middle of The Cake
05 Girl
06 Shut Up, Man [ft. El-P]
07 Happy Rappy
08 Bootyin the Air
09 Power [ft. Danny Brown & Despot]
10 Punjabi Song [ft. Bikram Singh]
11 Selena
12 Rainbow in the Dark
13 The Trick
14 Celebration


Das Racist

Das Racist — 2011 Tour Dates
Sat Aug 6 – Mad Decent Block Party – Philly Art Museum (Rocky steps) / Fairmount Park
Sat Aug 6 – Starlight Ballroom, Philadelphia, PA
Sun Aug 7 – The Piazza, Philadelphia, PA
Sat Aug 27 – Afropunk Festival @ Commodore Barry Park – Brooklyn, NY
Sun Aug 28 – LouFest 2011 @ Forest Park – St. Louis, MO
Sun Sep 4 – Bumbershoot Festival – Seattle, WA
Mon, Sep. 12 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom (Album Release Event) *
Wed, Sep. 28 Boston, MA – Middle East *
Thu, Sep. 29 New Haven, CT – Toads *
Fri, Sep. 30 Providence, RI – The Met *
Sat, Oct. 01 Washington, DC – 9:30 Club *
Tue, Oct. 04 Raleigh, NC – Lincoln Theater *
Wed, Oct. 05 Atlanta, GA – The Loft *
Thu, Oct. 06 St. Petersburg, FL – State Theatre *
Fri, Oct. 07 Orlando, FL – Firestone Live *
Sun, Oct. 09 Miami, FL – Langerado Festival *
Mon, Oct. 10 Tallahassee, FL – The Engine Room *
Tue, Oct. 11 New Orleans, LA – Howlin’ Wolf *
Thu, Oct. 13 Nashville, TN – Exit/In *
Sat, Oct. 15 Louisville, KY – Headliner’s *
Mon, Oct. 17 Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue *
Wed, Oct. 19 Madison, WI – High Noon Saloon *
Thu, Oct. 20 Chicago, IL – Reggie’s Rock Bar *
Fri, Oct. 21 Iowa City, IW – Blue Moose *
Sat, Oct. 22 Lawrence, KS – Granada Theater *
Wed, Oct. 26 Houston, TX – Fitzgerald’s *
Thu, Oct. 27 San Marcos, TX – Texas Music Theater *
Fri, Oct. 28 Austin, TX – Emo’s Alternative Lounge *
Tue, Nov. 01 Phoenix, AZ – The Crescent Ballroom *
Thu, Nov. 03 Los Angeles, CA – The Roxy Theatre *
Fri, Nov. 04 Oakland, CA – The Shattuck Down Low *
Mon, Nov. 07 Portland, OR – Branx *
Wed Nov 30 – The Ruby Lounge, Manchester, UK
Dec 01 – XOYO, London, UK
Dec 03 – The Haunt, Brighton, UK
Dec 08 – Melkweg Sugar Factory, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Dec 10 – Metropool (main Hall), Poppodium, Hengelo, Netherlands
Dec 12 – Festsaal Kreuzberg, Berlin, Germany
* w/ Despot & Danny Brown

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!