Contact Us

NYC naming street after U2, U2 playing club gigs, GMA, etc

U2 on a London roof (BBC)
U2

They’ve sung about a place “Where the Streets Have No Name,” but Irish rockers U2 will have a street named for them in Times Square Tuesday.

Mayor Bloomberg is expected to rename part of W.53rd St. at Broadway “U2 Way.”

The temporary street renaming coincides with the release of the band’s new CD, “No Line on the Horizon,” and the kickoff last night of their five-night gig on “Late Show With David Letterman.”

Besides winning Grammys and being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Bono and his bandmates are known worldwide for fighting for human rights and social justice. [Daily News]

U2 are really good at getting attention when they have a new album coming out. On Friday they played on a London roof. You can watch the whole thing at BBC’s site. The first of five Letterman episodes aired last night. Today they get the street named after them. This coming Friday they’ll be on Good Morning America (Bryant Park?), and then they’ll play a show at Fordham University. Today is also U2 day on RXP.

Then next week: “U2 3 Nights Live”

Monday, March 9 – LIVE from Los Angeles An Inside Look At No Line On The Horizon
Time: 9-10pm Eastern, 8-9pm Central, 7-8pm Mountain, 6-7pm Pacific — Hosted by Shirley Manson

Tuesday, March 10 – LIVE from Chicago Radio Takeover featuring a deejay set by U2
Time: 9-10pm Eastern, 8-9pm Central, 7-8pm Mountain, 6-7pm Pacific — Hosted by Shirley Manson

Wednesday, March 11 – LIVE from Boston Featuring live performance and audience Q&A with U2
Time: 9-10m Eastern, 8-9pm Central, 7-8pm Mountain, 6-7pm Pacific — Hosted by TBA

U2 3 Nights Live will be delivered via satellite on ABC Satellite Services and Westwood One in the United States.

Each of those cities will also get a small club show.

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!