Contact Us

OCS (aka Oh Sees) releasing ‘Memory of a Cut Off Head,’ share title track

OCS: Dawson and Dwyer
OCS: Dawson and Dwyer

Oh Sees just released their 19th album, the psych-prog extravaganza Orc, last week and now main man John Dwyer announces their next album, Memory of a Cut Off Head, will be out November 17. It’s not only the 20th Oh Sees/Thee Oh Sees/OCS album in 20 years, it’s the 100th release for Dwyer’s label, Castle Face. For it, Dwyer is reverting back to the original OCS incarnation of the name, and it’s a collaboration with Brigid Dawson who was a member of Thee Oh Sees for many years. This is also a radically different record you might not be expecting: pretty, pastoral, and folky, with string arrangements by Heather Lockie and brass arrangements by Mikal Cronin. You can listen to Memory of a Cut Off Head‘s genuinely lovely title track, and check out cover art and tracklist, below.

Meanwhile, Oh Sees’ powerhouse two-drummer lineup will be on tour soon, including two shows at Brooklyn’s Warsaw on 9 & 10 (tickets). Tour dates are listed below.

ocs

OCS – MEMORY OF A CUT OFF HEAD TRACKLIST
1. Memory of a Cut Off Head
2. Cannibal Planet
3. The Baron Sleeps and Dreams
4. The Remote Viewer
5. On & On Corridor
6. Neighbor To None
7. The Fool
8. The Chopping Block
9. Time Tuner
10. Lift A Finger

OH SEES/OCS – 2017 TOUR DATES
Thu. Aug. 31 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Sept. 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
Sat. Sept. 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Mon. Sept. 4 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas Outside
Tue. Sept. 5 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jack’s
Wed. Sept. 6 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sept. 7 – Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival
Fri. Sept. 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theater
Sa. Sept. 9 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Sun. Sept. 10 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Wed. Sept. 13 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Thu. Sept. 14 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe I Le National
Fri. Sept. 15 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater
Sat. Sept. 16 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Sun. Sept. 17 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Tue. Sept. 19 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Fri. Sept. 22 – Missoula, MT @ Monk’s
Sat. Sept. 23 – Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s
Sun. Sept. 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
Mon. Sept. 25 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Wed. Sept. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Thur. Sept. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!