Contact Us

Owen announces ‘The King of Whys,’ shares “Lost” (prod. S Carey)

photo by Shervin Lainez

Mike Kinsella will release a new Owen album, The King of Whys, on July 29 via Polyvinyl (pre-order). It follows his 2014 covers album and it’s his first album of original material since 2013’s L’Ami due Peuple. After the full-band approach he took on that one, the new album’s single “Lost” is something of a return to form. It’s got him back in soft acoustic mode, back saying “fucking” with oomph over an otherwise delicate song. But he covers new ground here to. It was produced by S. Carey (who opened for Mike’s band American Football recently) of Bon Iver, who also plays on the album, and it also features contributions by Bon Iver member Mike Noyce, plus other S. Carey collaborators Zach Hanson, Ben Lester, Jeremy Botcher and Andy Hofer. Probably thanks in part to S. Carey’s influence, the song’s got some orchestral arrangements that go beyond your standard Owen song. “Lost” makes it seem pretty promising that we’re getting another quality album from Mike Kinsella this summer. Listen below (via NPR).

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!