Contact Us

‘Pace Presents’ 2012 / 2013 Schedule; Fatoumata Diawara touring (dates)

Fotoumata

We previously posted about Justin Townes Earl‘s two-night Woody Guthrie tribute that’s happening at PACE University’s Michael Shimmel Center for the Arts on October 26 and 27. This is part of the university’s “Pace Presents” 2012 / 2013 season which features “world-class performing arts and culture series with an emphasis on music superstars from around the globe, charismatic and crowd-pleasing dance performances, spectacular theatre and contemporary cabaret” The season kicks off Saturday, September 22 with Romanian gypsy folk act Fanfare Ciocalia and tickets are on sale now.

The full schedule is below but highlights include Malian actress/singer Fatoumata Diawara who’ll perform on September 28. Tickets are still available. Her most recent album, Fatou, made a few Best of 2011 lists and is streamable at Spotify. The show is part of a North American tour and all tour dates are listed below.

The Pace Presents ’12/’13 season wraps on April 20 up with South African horn player and vocalist Hugh Masekela. Tickets are on sale now.

The Pace Presents 2012 / 2013 schedule is below, along with a list of Fatoumata Diawara tour dates and videos.

Fatoumata Diawara – 2012 Tour Dates
Fri 09/21/12 Bloomington, IN Downtown Bloomington
Sun 09/23/12 Chicago, IL Mayne Stage Theatre
Mon 09/24/12 Chicago, IL Preston Bradley Hall
Wed 09/26/12 Hanover, NH Dartmouth College
Thu 09/27/12 Manchester, NH Saint Anselm College
Fri 09/28/12 New York, NY Michael Schimmel Center For The Arts
Sat 09/29/12 Hanover, NH Dartmouth College
Fri 10/05/12 Washington, DC Atlas Theater
Sat 10/06/12 Silk Hope, NC Shakori Hills GrassRoots Festival Site
Sat 03/30/13 Berkeley, CA University Of California

PACE PRESENTS 2012 / 2013 SCHEDULE

Saturday, September 22
Part of Pace Presents’ World Music Series
FANFARE CIOCARLIA (from Romania)
Produced with The NY Gypsy Festival

Friday, September 28
Part of Pace Presents’ World Music Series
FATOUMATA DIAWARA (from Mali)

Tuesday, October 2 thru Sunday, October 7
Part of Pace Presents’ Theatre Series
SHAKESPEARE’S GLOBE HAMLET

Saturday, October 13
Part of Pace Presents’ World Music Series
ZAKIR HUSSAIN and RAKESH CHAURASIA (from India)

Friday, October 19
Part of Pace Presents’ Cabaret Series
American Showstoppers: The Music of HAROLD ARLEN
Featuring THE FRED BARTON ORCHESTRA with stars from the Broadway stage

Saturday, October 20
Part of Pace Presents’ Music Series
RAMSEY LEWIS and His Electric Band

Friday, October 26 + Saturday, October 27
Part of Pace Presents’ Music Series
JUSTIN TOWNES EARLE: In The Spirit of WOODY GUTHRIE
featuring special guests JOE PUG,
John McCauley of DEER TICK and THE LOW ANTHEM

Sunday, October 28
Part of Pace Presents’ Music Series
The 2012 Banjo Summit with BELA FLECK
Featuring TONY TRISCHKA, BILL KEITH, RICHIE STEARNS,
ERIC WEISSBERG, PETER WERNICK and MAC BENFORD

Sat, November 3 + Sun, November 4
Part of Pace Presents’ Dance Series
CALPULLI MEXICAN DANCE COMPANY

Saturday, December 8
Part of Pace Presents’ Cabaret Series
DEBBIE GRAVITTE’S All Star Holiday Show

Friday, January 11; Saturday, January 12; Sunday, January 13; Wednesday, January 16; Thurs, January 17; Friday, January 18
Part of Pace Presents’ Theatre Series
And the inaugural PROTOTYPE festival
DAVID T. LITTLE’s Soldier Songs
Presented by Beth Morrison Projects and HERE

Friday, February 1
Part of Pace Presents’ World Music Series
CANZONIERE GRECANICO SALENTINO (from Italy)

Tues, February 12 + Wed, February 13
Part of Pace Presents’ Dance Series
MOTIONHOUSE:
Scattered – A Meteor Shower of Unlikely Moments

Wednesday February 27
Part of Pace Presents’ Lecture Series
DR. JANETTA REBOLD BENTON
Italy’s Extraordinary Art: Antiquity

Saturday, March 2
Part of Pace Presents’ Dance Series
CIRQUE ZIVA

Wednesday, March 6
Part of Pace Presents’ Lecture Series
DR. JANETTA REBOLD BENTON
Italy’s Extraordinary Art: The Middle Ages

Friday, March 8
Part of Pace Presents’ Music Series
THE KNICKERBOCKER ORCHESTRA
Featuring HARUMI HANAFUSA

Saturday, March 9
Part of Pace Presents’ Cabaret Series
American Showstoppers: The Music of JULE STYNE
Featuring THE FRED BARTON ORCHESTRA with stars from the Broadway stage

Wednesday, March 13
Part of Pace Presents’ Lecture Series
DR. JANETTA REBOLD BENTON
Italy’s Extraordinary Art: Renaissance and Rebirth

Wednesday, March 20
Part of Pace Presents’ Lecture Series
DR. JANETTA REBOLD BENTON
Italy’s Extraordinary Art: Mannerism and Baroque

Fri, March 22 + Sat, March 23
Part of Pace Presents’ Dance Series
ULTIMA VEZ: What the Body Does Not Remember

Friday, April 5
Part of Pace Presents’ Dance Series
AMERICAN BALLET THEATRE’S STUDIO COMPANY

Saturday, April 20
Part of Pace Presents’ Music Series
HUGH MASEKELA (from South Africa)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!