Contact Us

Parquet Courts announce Danger Mouse-produced LP, share first single, touring


Parquet Courts have announced their new album, Wide Awake!, which will be out May 18 via Rough Trade. They made it with producer Danger Mouse (Brian Burton), which might seem a little odd, but remember they worked with him on Milano, that Daniele Luppi/Karen O collaborative concept album from last year about ’80s fashion. “The ethos behind every Parquet Courts record is that there needs to be change for the better, and the best way to tackle that is to step out of one’s comfort zone,” said A Savage of the pairing. “I personally liked the fact that I was writing a record that indebted to punk and funk, and Brian’s a pop producer who’s made some very polished records. I liked that it didn’t make sense.” They still sound like Parquet Courts on the spirited, instantly catchy first single “Almost Had To Start A Fight / In And Out Of Patience” which nods just a little at The Jam. You can check out the lyric video below.

The album’s up for preorder now and it looks like Savage has gone all out again on the artwork and packaging (he got a Grammy nomination the Human Performance packaging).

Parquet Courts will be on tour this spring with fellow Rough Trade act Goat Girl as openers. No NYC date has been announced yet. All tour dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on


Parquet Courts – Wide Awake! tracklist
01 “Total Football”
02 “Violence”
03 “Before The Water Gets Too High”
04 “Mardi Gras Beads”
05 “Almost Had To Start A Fight/In And Out Of Patience”
06 “Freebird II”
07 “Normalization”
08 “Back To Earth”
09 “Wide Awake”
10 “NYC Observation”
11 “Extinction”
12 “Death Will Bring Change”
13 “Tenderness”

Thu. Feb. 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Coconut Grove Ballroom w/ Thurston Moore, Heron Oblivion
Fri. Feb. 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever w/ Mary Lattimore ***SOLD OUT***
Sat. Feb. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever w/ Anna St. Louis ***SOLD OUT***
Tue. Apr. 24 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Thu. Apr. 26 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s – Levitation w/ Ty Segall
Fri. Apr. 27 – Norman, OK @ Norman Music Festival
Sat. Apr. 28 – Dallas, TX @ Sons of Hermann Hall
Sun. Apr. 29 – Englewood, CO @ The Gothic Theatre
Sat. May 5 – Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival
Wed. May 23 – Boston, MA @ Royale w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 24 – Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom w/ Goat Girl
Fri. May 25 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall w/ Goat Girl
Sat. May 26 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount w/ Goat Girl
Sun. May 27 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Mon. May 28 – Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Goat Girl
Wed. May 30 – Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 1 – Lawrence, KS @ The Granada w/ Goat Girl
Sat. June 2 – St Louis, MO @ Ready Room w/ Goat Girl
Sun. June 3 – Nashville, TN @ Basement East w/ Goat Girl
Tue. June 5 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel w/ Goat Girl
Wed. June 6 – Carborro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle w/ Goat Girl
Thu. June 7 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Goat Girl
Wed. July 4 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Thu. July 5 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. July 6 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Sun. July 8 – Hérouville saint Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard Festival
Thu. July 12 – Bilbao, ES @ Bilbao BBK Festival
Sat. July 14 – Beccles, UK @ Latitude Festival
Sun. July 15 – Kortrijk, BE @ De Kreun
Tue. July 17 – Duedingen, CH @ Bad Bonn

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!