Contact Us

Parquet Courts’ Sean Yeaton tells us his Top 10 of 2018 using 5-star Yelp reviews

Sean (R) with Andrew Savage on Parquet Courts' "Total Football" video
Sean (R) with Andrew Savage on Parquet Courts’ “Freebird II” video

Parquet Courts, who released the terrific Wide Awake! this year, are wrapping up their late fall North American tour this week, hitting Chicago tonight (12/3), Toronto on Wednesday and Montreal on Thursday (both with new Montreal band Pottery), and then putting a bow on 2018 with a hometown show at NYC’s Hammerstein Ballroom on Saturday (12/8) with Sun Ra Arkestra. Tickets for Hammerstein are still available.

One of Parquet Courts’ recent shows was in Baltimore where they performed with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. You can watch footage of that — “Mardi Gras Beads” and “Wide Awake!” — below.

We’ve been asking bands for their top 10 albums of 2018, and Parquet Courts bassist Sean Yeaton was nice enough to send us his. We also asked for his thoughts on his list, to which he sent back this:

[NOVEMBER 30, 2018 at 10:46 AM]

I have a hard time when it comes to time management on the road. It’s just unbelievable to me how quickly every second, minute, and hour pile up into one long catastrophic “day.”

[NOVEMBER 30, 2018 at 12:52 PM]

Those last two sentences up there took hours to write. I barely even know what we’re doing here anymore and I have to go get some other shit done right now so listen here’s the deal. Actually hold on.

[NOVEMBER 30, 2018 at 4:58 PM]

And I’m back. See what I’m saying? Where was I? Ah, the deal…

[NOVEMBER 30, 2018 1at 6:41 PM]

Jesus Christ. Alright. Here are 10 records I loved from 2018 in no particular order. I haven’t got any time to tell you why they’re good so I’ve gone to Yelp to find some of the best 5 star yelp reviews of random businesses that I think are more or less what I would say about the songs. Thank you for your patience and support.

Yours,
Sean Yeaton
Parquet Courts

Check out Sean’s list, which includes records from Tierra Whack, Mary Lattimore, Protomartyr, Iceage, Public Practice, and more — and those corresponding Yelp reviews — below.

Parquet Courts also have a few West Coast dates with Snail Mail in January before heading to Australia and New Zealand. All dates are listed, along with a stream of Wide Awake!, below.

Speaking of Sun Ra Arkestra, they opened the first night of Yo La Tengo’s 2019 Hanukkah run on Sunday.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on
Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Tierra Whack – Whack World
image10

Public Practice – Distance is a Mirror
image2

Champagne Superchillin’ – Beach Deep
image6

Mary Lattimore – Hundreds of Days
image3

Pill – Soft Hell
image7

Running and Ryley Walker – S/T
image9

Drawing Boards – S/T
image8

Protomartyr – Consolation E​.​P.
image5

Iceage – Beyondless
image1

Maxband – Perfect Strangers
image4

Parquet Courts – 2018/2019 Tour Dates
12/03/2018 – Chicago, IL / Vic Theatre with Combo Chimbita
12/03/2018 – Chicago, IL / Sleeping Village with Deejay 420 Web MD – FREE SHOW
12/05/2018 – Toronto, ON / Danforth Music Hall with Pottery
12/06/2018 – Montreal, QC / Corona Theatre with Pottery
12/08/2018 – New York, NY / Hammerstein Ballroom with Sun Ra Arkestra
01/21/2019 – San Diego, CA / Music Box with Snail Mail
01/22/2019 – Santa Ana, CA / Constellation Room with Snail Mail
01/23/2019 – Los Angeles, CA / The Novo with Snail Mail
Mon. Jan. 28 – Auckland, NZ @ Laneway Festival: Albert Park Precinct
Sat. Feb. 2 – Brisbane, AUS @ Laneway Festival: Brisbane Showgrounds
Sun. Feb. 3 – Sydney, AUS @ Laneway Festival: SCA and Callan Park
Fri. Feb. 8 – Adelaide, AUS @ Laneway Festival: Hart’s Mill
Sat. Feb. 9 – Melbourne, AUS @ Laneway Festival: Footscray Park
Sun. Feb. 10 – Fremantle, AUS @ Laneway Festival: Esplanade Reserve and West End

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!