Contact Us

Philip Glass Ensemble performing ‘Music in 12 Parts’ at Town Hall this fall


Philip Glass, who held the Composer’s Chair position for Carnegie Hall’s 2017-2018 season, will perform as part of the Philip Glass Ensemble at Town Hall on October 27, performing his work “Music in 12 Parts” which actually premiered at Town Hall in 1974:

Music in Twelve Parts, written by Philip Glass between 1971 and 1974, is a deliberate, encyclopedic compendium of some techniques of repetition the composer had been evolving since the mid 1960s. It holds an important place in Glass’s repertory – not only from a historical vantage point (as the longest and most ambitious concert piece for the Philip Glass Ensemble) but from a purely aesthetic standard as well, because Music in Twelve Parts is both a massive theoretical exercise and a deeply engrossing work of art.

Tickets for that show are currently on Town Hall member presale and go on sale to the general public on June 12.

Related: Glass’ 1980 opera Satyagraha will be performed by the Folkoperan and Cirkus Cirkor of Sweden as part of BAM’s 2018’s Next Wave Festival on October 31 & November 1.

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!