Contact Us

Protomartyr share “You Always Win” ft. Kelley Deal from new EP

Protomartyr’s new Consolation E.P. is out tomorrow (6/15) on Domino and to whet your appetite they’ve shared the record’s closing track, “You Win Again,” which features Kelley Deal of The Breeders. Says Kelley, “I listened to Protomartyr’s demo for ‘You Always Win’ and thought of Sinatra and old Las Vegas. The band were into it, so Mike Montgomery and I worked with Lori Goldston (cello), Jocelyn Hach (viola) and Evan Ziporyn (bass clarinet) to create the sound of candy-coated corruption for Joe’s characters to inhabit. ‘It’s what I must do.'”

You can definitely hear a little Sinatra, “My Way” in particular, in this one. Protomartyr’s Joe Casey says, “Kelley Deal made this song great,” calling it “beautiful sound pasta.” For context on what that last part means, you can read Joe’s full thoughts on the song, and listen to a stream of “You Always Win,” below.

Protomartyr played BrooklynVegan’s Northside showcase at Elsewhere on Saturday (6/9) which was a typically great show. (Pictures from that are in the gallery above.) They’re off to Asia for shows in China, South Korea, Indonesia and other points, then Europe and the UK. All tour dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

“You Always Win” is the last song on our EP. That reminds me of three things. First; “good things come to those that wait”. I think that’s what is called an adage. I don’t know if waiting through three other quality songs counts, but I think it might. Second; this quote: “I did not get my Spaghetti-O’s; I got spaghetti. I want the press to know this.”

That’s the last words of some murderer, apparently. I think that means this song could have been something out of a can. Sure, murderers would have liked it fine but this is good, musical spaghetti. And the reason it’s spaghetti brings me to my third thought: Kelley Deal made this song great. It could have been flat circles in tomato gravy. Kelley, in her genius, elevated it to the thing you are hearing now. Beautiful sound pasta? I suppose.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

PROTOMARTYR – 2018 TOUR DATES
Fri. June 15 – Beijing, CN @ Yue Space
Sat. June 16 – Shanghai, CN @ YYT
Sun. June 17 – Seoul, KR @ V-Hall
Wed. June 20 – Kuala Lumpur, MY @ Live Fact
Thu. June 21 – Jakarta, ID @ Rossi Musik
Sat. June 23 – Athens, GR @ Ejekt Festival
Fri. July 6 – Modena, IT @ Arti Vive
Sat. July 7 – Chiusi, IT @ Lars Rock Fest
Sun. July 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Shrine Expo Hall w/ My Bloody Valentine
Sat. Aug. 11 – Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Sun. Aug. 12 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rotondes
Mon. Aug. 13 – Dusseldorf, DE @ Zakk
Tue. Aug. 14 – Bremen, DE @ Tower Musikclub
Thu. Aug. 16 – Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Fri. Aug. 17 – Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Sat. Aug 18 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Sun. Aug. 19 – St. Malo, FR @ La Route Du Rock
Tue. Aug. 21 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Aug. 22 – Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Fri. Aug. 24 – Schorndorf, DE @ Club Manufaktur
Sat. Aug 25 – Charleville Mezieres, FR @ Cabaret Vert Festival
Sun. Aug. 26 – Ramsgate, UK @ Ramsgate Hall
Tue. Aug. 28 – Sheffield, UK @ Picture House Social
Wed. Aug. 29 – Hebden Bridge, UK @ Trades Club
Thu. Aug. 30 – Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy 2
Fri. Aug. 31 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Thu. Aug. 30 – Sun. Sept. 2 – Vlieland, NL @ Into the Great Wide Open
Mon. Sept. 3 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Sept. 28 – Detroit, MI @ MOCAD Homestead w/ Deerhunter

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!