Contact Us

RJD2 – new album, MP3 & 2010 tour dates (2 NYC shows)

DOWNLOAD: RJD2 – Games You Can Win (MP3)

RJD2

“10 years! My god, that is a LIFETIME! I can’t believe I have been making records on a national level for 10 years. In 1999, I was just making these little beats in my bedroom for release on an independent label. Fast forward to 2009, and I’m . . . making these little beats in my bedroom for release on an independent label. Okay, to be fair, some things have changed — a bigger studio, I OWN the studio, I OWN the independent label, and instead of driving 10 blocks to a gig in my hometown, I fly 10 hours to a gig in another country. But when it all comes down to its most basic level, the goal is still the same — to make a piece of music that is going to hopefully rearrange your brain, or at least provide some relief from real life for a moment or two.” –RJD2

The first single, “Games You Can Win” (featuring Kenna), off RJD2‘s forthcoming record The Colossus (due January 19th), is available for free above. RJ will be touring – with a full band – behind the album in January, February and even into March when he hits Brooklyn venue Music Hall of Williamsburg (March 6th) and Manhattan club Highline Ballroom (March 7th). Both shows are with Break Science and Happy Chichester. Tickets for both NYC shows go on sale this week (Music Hall on sale Thursday, Highline on Friday). All dates, the new album art and more info, below…

RJD2

“As The Third Hand was my first TRULY solo album, with NO guest performances whatsoever, I decided to do the opposite of sorts this time — an album that is as collaborative as possible, an “overview” of all the different types of working approaches I’ve used over the years. Some songs are strictly sample-based; some are live; some songs are completely instrumental while others are vocal songs , some have guest vocalists, a few songs I sing myself; and I brought a few rappers on board. As this was all tracked at the same time and in the same place, it has a nice cohesive feel to it, but retains the diversity throughout that I think has become a trademark. It features Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, Foreign Exchange), Kenna (Star Trak, VA Beach), Aaron Livingston (The Roots’ Guns Are Drawn), Columbus MC’s The Catalyst, Illogic, and NP, and a slew of instrumentalists. And I think I can safely say this is the most sonically lush and varied record I’ve ever created. The album also marks my debut behind the drum kit (“Games You Can Win”,”The Shining Path”, “Tin Flower”,”Gypsy Caravan”,”Walk With Me”). Save for “A Son’s Cycle” which features MC’s, all songs were written and arranged by myself. When my instincts were telling me that something like horns, flute, or mandolin were needed, I hit the Rolodex. Same goes for the execution of vocals — if a song’s vision was something I couldn’t pull off myself, I went on the hunt for the right person to pull it off. I’d rather not spend time describing the music, but I honestly do feel that this album is a kaleidoscopic look forward, as well as back.”– RJD2

RJD2 – 2010 Tour Dates
Sat 01/09/10 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Sun 01/10/10 Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle
Mon 01/11/10 Charlotte, NC Visulite Theatre
Tue 01/12/10 Savannah, GA Live Wire Music Hall
Wed 01/13/10 Orlando, FL The Social
Thu 01/14/10 Tampa, FL The Crowbar
Fri 01/15/10 Tallahassee, FL Club Downunder
Sat 01/16/10 Atlanta, GA The Masquerade
Sun 01/17/10 Birmingham, AL Bottletree
Mon 01/18/10 Chattanooga, TN Rhythm & Brews
Tue 01/19/10 Knoxville, TN The Valarium
Wed 01/20/10 Asheville, NC The Orange Peel
Thu 01/21/10 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre
Fri 01/22/10 Morgantown, WV 123 Pleasant St.
Fri 02/05/10 Columbus, OH Skully’s Music Diner
Sat 02/06/10 Newport, KY The Historic Southgate House
Sun 02/07/10 Louisville, KY Headliners Music Hall
Mon 02/08/10 Nashville, TN Exit / In
Tue 02/09/10 Memphis, TN Hi-Tone Cafe
Wed 02/10/10 Oxford, MS The Lyric Oxford
Thu 02/11/10 New Orleans, LA Tipitina’s Uptown
Fri 02/12/10 Baton Rouge, LA Spanish Moon
Sat 02/13/10 Austin, TX Emo’s
Sun 02/14/10 Denton, TX Hailey’s
Mon 02/15/10 Tulsa, OK Cain’s Ballroom
Thu 02/18/10 Columbia, MO The Blue Note
Fri 02/19/10 Grinnell, IA Grinnell College
Sat 02/20/10 Urbana, IL Canopy Club
Sat 03/06/10 Brooklyn, NY Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sun 03/07/10 New York, NY Highline Ballroom

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!