Contact Us

Scout Niblett released a new LP (TLC cover included), touring w/ Dope Body who have other shows too (dates & videos)

by Andrew Sacher

Scout Niblett – ‘It’s Up To Emma’
scoutniblett-itsuptoemma

Grungy folk singer Scout Niblett released her new album, It’s Up To Emma, this week via Drag City. It’s her first album not produced by Steve Albini, but her ass-kicking PJ Harvey-esque songwriting is just as raw and powerful as ever. It’s fitting for a record of this kind that the first single is opening track is simply titled “Gun.” You can watch the video for that one, along with her no-bullshit cover of TLC‘s “No Scrubs” (which appears on the album!) and the tracklist below. That’s the artwork above.

Scout will be supporting the new record with an international tour this year, which includes a run with Baltimore noise rockers/Drag City labelmates Dope Body. That run hits NYC at the mostly-metal Brooklyn venue Saint Vitus on September 13. Tickets for that show are not on sale yet, but you can check Ticketfly for updates.

Dope Body will be in NYC even sooner to play 285 Kent on June 20. No advance tickets for that show at the moment either, and the rest of the lineup is still TBA. This past March, they released the Saturday EP via Drag City, and you can check out the video for its punishing opening track, “Leather Head,” below.

All dates for both bands are listed, along with those videos, below…

Scout Niblett – “Gun” Official Video

Dope Body – “Leather Head” Official Video

Scout Niblett – “No Sctubs” (TLC Cover)

Scout Niblett – “Gun”

Dope Body – “Leather Head”


Scout Niblett – It’s Up To Emma Tracklist:
01 Gun
02 Can’t Fool Me Now
03 My Man
04 Second Chance Dreams
05 Woman And Man
06 All Night Long
07 No Scrubs
08 Could This Possibly Be
09 What Can I Do


Scout Niblett — 2013 Tour Dates
Fri. May 31 – Mannheim, Germany @ Maifeld Derby Festival
Sat. June 1 – Hamburg, Germany @ Kampnagel
Mon. June 3 – Berlin, Germany @ Volksbuhne
Tue. June 4 – Duisburg, Germany @ Steinbruch
Wed. June 5 – Schorndorf, Germany @ Manufaktur
Thu. June 6 – Brussels, Belgium @ Le Botanique
Sat. June 8 – Paris, France @ Point Ephemere
Sun. June 9 – Cologne, Germany @ Museum Ludwig
Tue. June 11 – Munich, Germany @ Strom
Wed. June 12 – Vienna, Austria @ Chelsea
Thu. June 13 – Graz, Austria @ Postgarage
Fri. June 14 – Innsbruck, Austria @ Die Backerei
Sat. June 15 – Luzern, Switzerland @ B Sides Festival
Mon. June 17 – Lille, France @ La Peniche
Tue. June 18 – London, United Kingdom @ Corsica Studios
Wed. June 19 – Cardiff, United Kingdom @ Buffalo Bar
Thu. June 20 – Leeds, United Kingdom @ Brudenell Social Club
Fri. June 21 – Glasgow, United Kingdom @ Broadcast
Sat. June 22 – Brighton, United Kingdom @ Sticky Mile’s
Mon. June 24 – Jena, Germany @ Café Wagner
Wed. June 26 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Lilla Hotellbaren
Thu. June 27 – Oslo, Norway @ Gut Feelings Festival
Thu. Aug. 22 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza *
Fri. Aug. 23 – Vancouver, BC @ Cobalt *
Sat. Aug. 24 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *
Thu. Aug. 29 – San Francisco, CA @ Café Du Nord *
Fri. Aug. 30 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Mezz *
Sat. Aug. 31 – San Diego, CA @ Tin Can Alehouse *
Tue. Sept. 3 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Wed. Sept. 4 – Houston, TX @ Mango’s
Thu. Sept. 5 – New Orleans, LA @ Siberia
Fri. Sept. 6 – Atlanta, GA @ 529
Tue. Sept. 10 – Washington, DC @ Black Whiskey ^
Wed. Sept. 11 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery ^
Thu. Sept. 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie ^
Fri. Sept. 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ St. Vitus ^
Sat. Sept. 14 – Boston, MA @ Cambridge Elks Lodge ^
Mon. Sept. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo ^
Tue. Sept. 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Silver Dollar ^
Wed. Sept. 18 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahall’s 20 Lanes ^
Thu. Sept. 19 – Pittsburgh, PA @ The Warhol Museum (an Evening With)
Fri. Sept. 20 – Lexington, KY @ Boomslang Festival ^
Sat. Sept. 21 – Chicago, IL @ Hideout ^
Sun. Sept. 22 – Minneapolis, MN @ Ice House ^
Fri. Nov. 22-Sat. Nov. 24 – Camber Sands, United Kingdom @ ATP Festival (End of An Era Pt. 1)

* w/ P.G. Six (Pat Gubler solo)
^ w/ Dope Body


Dope Body — 2013 Tour Dates
5/24/13 Primavera Sound Festival Barcelona Spain
5/25/13 Villette Sonique Paris France
5/26/13 Le Romandie Lausanne Switzerland w/ Hot Snakes
5/27/13 Summer Student Festival Padova Italy
5/28/13 Arena Vienna Austria
5/29/13 Kafe Kult Munich Germany
5/30/13 Marie-Antoinette Berlin Germany w/ Purling Hiss
6/1/13 Pilot Club Prague Czech Republic
6/11/13 Black Cat Washington DC
6/12/13 Mahall’s 20 Lanes Lakewood OH w/ Total Babes
6/15/13 NXNE Toronto Canada
6/16/13 The Fall Montreal Canada w/ Holy Cobras, Loud Sex
6/17/13 BSP Kingston NY
6/18/13 Machines with Magnets Providence RI
6/19/13 JP Drive In Jamaica Plain MA
6/20/13 285 Kent Ave. Brooklyn NY
7/30/13 The Ottobar Baltimore MD w/ Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
9/10/13 Black Whiskey Washington DC *
9/11/13 Metro Gallery Baltimore MD *
9/12/13 Kung Fu Necktie Philadelphia PA
9/13/13 Saint Vitus Brooklyn NY *
9/14/13 Cambridge Elks Lodge Boston MA *
9/17/13 The Silver Dollar Toronto Canada*
9/18/13 Mahall’s 20 Lanes Lakewood OH *
9/20/13 Boomslang Festival Lexington KY
9/21/13 Hideout Chicago IL *
9/22/13 Icehouse Minneapolis MN w/ Dustin Wong *
* – w/ Scout Niblett

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!