Contact Us

serpentwithfeet expands tour, adds fall dates

serpentwithfeet
photo by Ash Kingston

soil is one of 2018’s finest examples of accessible-but-experimental pop.

serpentwithfeet made the album with an impressive list of collaborators (Katie Gately, Clams Casino, Paul Epworth, and mmph), though he (real name Josiah Wise) is the star. He’s a natural-born belter with a set of pipes that certainly could get him on the radio if he wasn’t also so interested in the avant-garde. The sounds on this album are wild, from the dizzy, late-night R&B of opener “whisper” to the glitchy electronics and gospel harmonies of “mourning song” to the dark, freaky, almost industrial-leaning “cherubim.” And he’s not just interested in sound manipulation but also in deep, personal emotion, which fills his lyrics on soil

serpentwithfeet released his great debut album soil on Secretly Canadian/Tri Angle last week, and he continues to tour like crazy in support of it. (That’s an excerpt of my writeup on the album above.) Next week he’s got dates with Tri Angle labelmate Katie Gately (who contributed to soil), and he just added more dates for the fall.

The newly-added dates include a Brooklyn show on October 9 at Elsewhere (Hall). Tickets for that show go on sale Friday (6/15) at 10 AM. All dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

serpentwithfeet — 2018 Tour Dates
Tue. June 19 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall (w/ Katie Gately)
Thu. June 21 – Portland, OR @ Holocene (w/ Katie Gately)
Fri. June 22 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza (w/ Katie Gately)
Sat. June 23 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore Cabaret (w/ Katie Gately)
Mon. June 25 – Washington, DC @ DC9 (w/ Lee Mo)
Tue. June 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s (w/ Lee Mo)
Wed. June 27 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. June 29 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake (w/ Lee Mo)
Sun. July 1 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle (w/ Lee Mo)
Fri. July 6-Sat. July 7 – Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires
Tue. July 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sun. July 29 – Tokyo, JP @ Fuji Rock
Wed. Aug. 8 – London, UK @ Royal Albert Hall (BBC Proms w/ Shavon Van Etten, Hercules & Love Affair)
Fri. Aug. 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Haven
Tue. Oct. 9 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
Wed. Oct. 10 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Thu. Oct. 11 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings
Sat. Oct. 13-Sun. Oct. 14 – Oakland, CA @ Treasure Island Music Festival
Sun. Oct. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Afropunk Festival
Fri. Oct. 26 – Madrid, ES @ Primavera Club
Sat. Oct. 27 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Club
Mon. Oct. 29 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum
Tue. Oct. 30 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly
Thu. Nov. 1 – Duedingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Fri. Nov. 2 – Zurich, CH @ Exit
Sat. Nov. 3 – Milan, IT @ Club to Club
Tue. Nov. 6 – Cologne, DE @ Gebaude 9
Wed. Nov. 7 – Berlin, De @ Lido
Fri. Nov. 9 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!