Contact Us

Skream likes Skrillex (and is opening for him in NYC); Rusko says new album is in reaction to brostep (and is touring)

by Andrew Sacher

Skream & Benga
Skream

Dubstep originator Skream recently talked to UK mag the Quietus:

Quietus: A lot of people would say with the Skrillex stuff, that it’s damaging to dubstep, it’s perverting the sound.

Skream: But what are we gonna do, form a united front against Skrillex? Honestly, it’s pathetic, I think, it’s ridiculous. Either listen to it or don’t listen to it. There’s still nights playing the stuff those people want to hear. It’s just bitchiness, it really is. You haven’t got to like his music, you don’t particularly have to like him, but there’s no reason you can’t like what he’s done – he’s smashed it. He’s up for five Grammys. He must be doing something right, you know what I mean?

I think it hurts a lot of people over here because it’s a UK sound, but it’s been someone with influences outside the original sound that has made it a lot bigger. The bad side of that is that a lot of people will just say ‘dubstep equals Skrillex’.

But in all honesty it genuinely doesn’t bother me. I like the music he makes. People will fucking burn me for saying that [laughs]. There’ll be effigies out in the fucking street! It just is what it is man, you’ve just got to keep yourself moving. The fact that dubstep, the word – you know I hate saying the word, I love what it is but I just hear it so much now. But even though it’s so big now, that means that everybody else is earning a bit more money. Even if you’re playing the deepest deepest sound, you’re still earning that little bit more money because you’re playing dubstep. Whether you want to admit it or not, you are.

Skream is a little more lenient with the Skrillex type stuff than James Blake who called it a “direct misrepresentation of the sound” and Rusko, who said, “brostep is sort of my fault but now I’ve started to hate it.” Rusko told SPIN that his new album, due out in January, is “completely a reaction to the masculine, dance-floor orientated, distorted mess that is the current state of dubstep.” Skream’s collaborator Benga is also working on a new album that is “different to what’s going on at the minute,” but like Skream, he says, “I’m not bothered. I’m happy that a lot of people like the music.” Skream does admit that the dubstep going on at the moment is a “fad” though, and wants to make sure that when it “dies out, he’s still standing.”

Skream probably still will be standing, but until that fad dies out he’ll be embracing it in NYC on February 4 at Terminal 5 when he and Benga open for Skrillex, along with Koan Sound and FlyLo associate Tokimonsta . Tickets will probably sell right out Thursday (12/22) at noon. They’re on AmEx presale now.

(Speaking of Tokimonsta, she recently remixed Eight and a Half, the new project of Broken Social Scene’s Justin Peroff and members of The Stills who play two NYC shows in February – both on sale this week.)

If the Terminal 5 show is exactly the kind of electronic show you don’t want to be at (I wouldn’t blame you), Tycho, Oneohtrix Point Never, and Beacon play the same day (2/4) at MHOW and tickets just went on sale.

Skrillex, who is also one of the many electro artists playing a cruise ship in January, also plays Roseland Ballroom on 2/3 (one day before Terminal 5) with Zane Lowe and Spank Rock who also recently toured with Ke$ha, Spank Rock has also opened for Bjork, and who toured with Big Freedia and friends this year too. From Iceland to Bushwick to mainstream pop to brostep, everyone loves Spank Rock. UPDATE: Skrillex plays Webster Hall while he’s here too.

And speaking of James Blake, his new video for his cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You” which stars Rebecca Hall is below.

Also best of luck to James Blake collaborator Bon Iver who is going up against Skrillex for “Best New Artist” in the Grammys (you know, because Bon Iver was a new artist this year), not that Justin Vernon will care if he loses anyway (as he shouldn’t).

James Blake video and a ton of Rusko tour dates (including New Year’s Eve in Chicago), below…


James Blake — “A Case of You”

Rusko Tour Dates
Fri 12/30/11 Congress Theater Chicago IL w/ Switch, Sinden
Sat 12/31/11 Congress Theater Chicago IL w/ Switch, Sinden
Wed 01/04/12 The Music Box Los Angeles CA
Fri 01/06/12 HOLY SHIP!
Sat 01/07/12 HOLY SHIP!
Sun 01/08/12 HOLY SHIP!
Thu 02/02/12 Valarium Knoxville TN
Fri 02/03/12 Cannery Ballroom Nashville TN
Sat 02/04/12 Minglewood Hall Memphis TN
Mon 02/06/12 The National Richmond VA
Tue 02/07/12 Showboat Atlantic City Atlantic City NJ
Wed 02/08/12 Club Zoo Pittsburgh PA
Thu 02/09/12 The Palladium Worcester MA
Fri 02/10/12 Mullins Center Amherst MA
Sat 02/11/12 Albany Armory Albany NY
Sun 02/12/12 Memorial Auditorium Burlington VT
Tue 02/14/12 Town Ballroom Buffalo NY
Wed 02/15/12 Stages Nightclub Kingston ON
Thu 02/16/12 London Music Hall London ON
Fri 02/17/12 Guelph Concert Theatre Guelph ON
Sat 02/18/12 The Bluestone Columbus OH
Mon 02/20/12 House of Blues Cleveland Cleveland OH
Tue 02/21/12 The Madison Theater Covington KY
Wed 02/22/12 The Necto Ann Arbor MI
Fri 02/24/12 The Rave Milwaukee WI
Sat 02/25/12 Orpheum Theatre Madison Madison WI
Sun 02/26/12 Canopy Club Urbana IL
Mon 02/27/12 The Pageant St. Louis MO
Tue 02/28/12 Gillioz Theater Springfield MO
Wed 02/29/12 Liberty Hall Lawrence KS
Fri 03/02/12 The Snow Ball Music Experience Avon CO


All Skrillex dates:
Los Angeles
Tuesday, January 24 @ Dim Mak Tuesday at Cinespace (Skrillex, Alvin Risk, KOAN Sound)
Wednesday, January 25 @ Echoplex (Skrillex vs. 12th Planet, Diplo, Check Yo Ponytail)
Thursday, January 26 @ Exchange (Skrillex, Zedd)
Friday, January 27 @ Avalon (Skrillex, Huoratron, KIll the Noise)
Saturday, January 28 @ The Palladium (Skrillex, AraabMUZIK, KOAN Sound, Munchi)
Sunday, January 29 @ L.A.Live Event Deck (Skrillex, Benga, Nadastrom, Special Guest New York
Tuesday, January 31 @ Webster Hall (Skillex, AC Slater)
Wednesday, February 1 @ Pacha (Skrillex, Zedd, Sazon Booya)
Friday, February 3 @ Roseland Ballroom (Skrillex, Zane Lowe, Spank Rock, Special Guest TBA)
Saturday, February 4 @ Terminal 5 (Skream & Benga, KOAN Sound, Tokimonsta)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!