Contact Us

Stef Chura preps new LP & tour, shares “Method Man” (prod. Car Seat Headrest)

Stef Chura Midnight

Detroit’s Stef Chura is following her 2017 debut album Messes (which came out on Urinal Cake Records) with her first album for Saddle Creek, Midnight, due June 7 via her new label home (pre-order). The album was produced by Will Todelo (aka Car Seat Headrest), and its first single is the crunchy indie rocker “Method Man,” which was in fact sort of inspired by the Wu-Tang Clan member. Stef says:

A long time ago I was pondering the literal words “Method Man” while listening to Wu-Tang. There was a person in my life that I had a confusing array of emotions for, sometimes I was in love with him, I admired and looked up to him, I thought of him as superior to me. He was older than me and I was a teenager. At that age I experienced a titanic amount of anxiety that usually expressed itself as silence.

This song was born out of a total frustration regarding a man who seemed “methodical” to me. He was literate. He waxed poetic. Almost someone…how do I say this…that you wanted to be condescending to you? As long as they were talking to you. He drank a lot of energy drinks and had this overall outlook that no one understood him. That he was in on some kind of cosmic secret that I couldn’t get. He smoked so many cigs it stained his fingers yellow.

He was always talking, and I was so enamored with this person. I was always nervous to reply. He would go on and on for hours. He sometimes would look at me and be like “oh maybe you won’t get this…. maybe you don’t get this.” I was too terrified to say much.

Stef also announced a tour, including SXSW and a Brooklyn show on July 12 at Rough Trade. Tickets for that show go on sale Friday (3/8) at 10 AM and an AmEx presale starts today (3/6) at noon. All dates are listed, with a stream of the new song, below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Tracklist
1. All I Do is Lie
2. Scream
3. Degrees
4. Method Mad
5. Trumbull
6. Jumpin’ Jack
7. Sincerely Yours
8. 3D Girl
9. Sweet Sweet Midnight
10. Love Song
11. They’ll Never
12. Eyes Without a Face

Stef Chura — 2019 Tour Dates
Tue. March 12 – Austin, TX @ Beerland – Tiger Bomb Promo (SXSW)
Wed. March 13 – Austin, TX @ @ Barracuda – GCT Showcase (SXSW)
Thu. March 14 – Austin, TX @ Container Bar – Dr. Martens (SXSW)
Thu. March 14 – Austin, TX @ Hole in the Wall – The Grey Estates (SXSW)
Sat. March 16 – Hot Springs, AR @ Valley of the Vapors
Sun. March 17 – Nashville, TN @ DRKMTTR
Tue. April 23 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig
Fri. July 5 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. July 6 – Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx
Sun. July 7 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake
Mon. July 8 – Montreal, QC @ Casa del Popolo
Tue. July 9 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Fri. July 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Sat. July 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Mon. July 15 – Washington, DC @ Comet Ping Pong
Tue. July 16 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
Wed. July 17 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Fri. July 19 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Sat. July 20 – Houston, TX @ The Satellite
Sun. July 21 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. July 22 – Dallas, TX @ Regal Room
Thu. July 25 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Fri. July 26 – San Diego, CA @ Sodabar
Sat. July 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theatre
Sun. July 28 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe du Nord
Tue. July 30 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Wed. July 31 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Thu. Aug. 1 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Fri. Aug. 2 – Spokane, WA @ Lucky You Lounge
Sat. Aug. 3 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Mon. Aug. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tue. Aug. 6 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Wed. Aug. 7 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb
Fri. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sat. Aug. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Backroom at Colectivo

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!