Contact Us

Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks releasing ‘Wig Out at Jagbags’ in January (listen to the first single)

by Bill Pearis

Jagbags

Stephen Malkmus will release his sixth solo album, Wig Out at Jagbags, on January 7 via Matador. That’s the cover art above. With the now Janet-Weiss-less Jicks, the album was produced by the band and Remko Schouten who Pavement nerds may know as that band’s regular live sound man. As to what to expect from the new record, Malkmus offered:

Wig Out At Jagbags is inspired by Cologne, Germany, Mark Von Schlegell, Rosemarie Trockel, Von Spar and Jan Lankisch, Can and Gas; Stephen-Malkmus-imagined Weezer/Chili Peppers, Sic Alps, UVA in the late 80′s, NYRB, Aroma Charlottenburg, inactivity, Jamming, Indie guys trying to sound Memphis, Flipper, Pete Townshend, Pavement, The Joggers, The NBA and home life in the 2010′s…

You can probably hear at least some of those things (and a reference to The Sweet) in the LP’s first single, “Lariat,” which the lyric video (in French, mind you) is below.

No word on a North American tour but European dates are listed, along with the LP tracklist and the video, below…



Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks – Lariat

Wig Out at Jagbag’s – track list
01 Planetary Motion
02 The Janitor Revealed
03 Lariat
04 Houston Hades
05 Shibboleth
06 J Smoov
07 Rumble at the Rainbo
08 Chartjunk
09 Independence Street
10 Scattegories
11 Cinnamon and Lesbians
12 Surreal Teenagers

Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks – 2013 Tour Dates
Mon Jan 13 — 
Leeds | Brudenell
Tue Jan 14 — 
Glasgow | Oran Mor
Wed Jan 15 — 
Manchester | Gorilla
Thu Jan 16 — 
London | Forum
Sat Jan 18 — 
Paris | Divan Du Monde
Mon Jan 20 — 
Madrid | Joy Eslava
Tue Jan 21 — 
Barcelona | Bikini
Thu Jan 23 — 
Milan | Tunnel
Sat Jan 25 — 
Fribourg | Fri-Son
Sun Jan 26 — 
Frankfurt | Zoom
Mon Jan 27 — 
Berlin | Postbahnhof
Wed Jan 29 — 
Copenhagen |Vega
Thu Jan 30 — 
Hamburg | Knust
Fri Jan 31 — 
Cologne | Gebaude 9
Sat Feb 1 — Brussels | Botanique Orangerie
Sun Feb 2 — Amsterdam | Bitterzoet

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!