Contact Us

The Pop Group streaming new LP, ‘Citizen Zombie'; Pampers added to Rough Trade show

by Bill Pearis

photo: Pampers @ MHOW, 2013 (more by Ebru Yildiz)
Pampers

The Pop Group‘s new album, Citizen Zombie, is out next week (2/24). Featuring original members Mark Stewart, guitarist Gareth Sager, bassist Dan Catsis and drummer Bruce Smith, this is their first album in 35 years and features the band’s potent mix of funk, dub, punk and mad-as-hell lyrics. With spot-on production by multiple-Grammy-winner (and Pop Group fan) Paul Epworth, it’s a fiery, welcome comeback and you can stream the whole thing ahead of its release over at NPR.

The Pop Group’s upcoming tour hits NYC next month, playing two shows: Rough Trade on March 16 and Bowery Ballroom on March 17. Tickets are still available for both. No openers have been announced for Bowery Ballroom but bruising local art-punks Pampers have just been added to the Rough Trade show, making for a great double bill.

Tour dates and a video from the new album, below…

The Pop Group — 2015 Tour Dates
Sat 21 Feb 6Music Festival, The Cluny, Newcastle-on-tyne, GB
Mon 23 Feb Rough Trade East, London, GB
Sun 1 Mar Liquid Room, Tokyo, JP
Wed 4 Mar Kings Arms, Auckland, NZ
Thu 5 Mar Adelaide Festival, Adelaide, AU
Fri 6 Mar The Factory Theatre, Sydney, AU
Sat 7 Mar The Corner Hotel, Melbourne, AU
Tue 10 Mar Echoplex, Los Angeles
Wed 11 Mar Great American Music Hall, San Francisco
Thu 12 Mar Neumos Crystal Ball Reading Room, Seattle
Fri 13 Mar Thalia Hall, Chicago
Sat 14 Mar Lee’s Palace, Toronto, CA
Mon 16 Mar Rough Trade, Brooklyn, New York w/ Pampers
Tue 17 Mar Bowery Ballroom, New York City
Tue 5 May The Haunt, Brighton, GB
Wed 6 May Arts Centre, Norwich, GB
Fri 8 May The Dome, London, GB
Sat 9 May The Plug, Sheffield, GB
Sun 10 May CCA, Glasgow, GB
Mon 11 May The Kazimier, Liverpool, GB
Fri 12 Jun Supersonic Festival, Birmingham, GB

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!