Contact Us

The DRX releasing ‘Throughout Within;’ listen to “Ancient Lie”


Brooklyn-based avant-rock musician The DRX (aka Dan Romans) is getting ready to release a new album called Throughout Within via Nefarious Industries on December 30. Dan’s joined by an impressive cast of musicians, including members of members of Psalm Zero, Kayo Dot, Buke & Gase, and more. We’re premiering the song “Ancient Lie.”

The DRX mixes harsh, metal-influenced vocals with proggy compositions and an array of hard left turns on the politically-charged song. We get electronics, thundering hardcore, noisy post-punk, horns, choral arrangements, a huge range of sounds. He writes about the song:

“Ancient Lie” is about how masses of people have blindly obeyed corrupt authority for millennia and manifested an attitude characterized by denial, ignorance and apathy. The song’s lyrics, as well as the narrative of Throughout Within, are presently relevant as racism, bigotry, misogyny, homophobia, xenophobia, violence, oppression, greed and abuse of power become increasingly rife in our society. As evidenced by the recent red sweep of our governing bodies and the election of Donald Trump as this nation’s leader, our society is saturated with those that welcome the evocation of a repressive and discriminatory neofascist regime. Betwixt the oppressive powers that be and the blind obedient masses, many individuals already have suffered, for a long time. Fear is poised to conquer, unless people become aware and act towards betterment and harmony. The rise of benevolence, forgiveness, empathy and reverence is needed to repudiate the ancient lie.

You can pre-order Throughout Within here. Listen to “Ancient Lie” below.

The album was “recorded by Jon Grabowski, recorded and mixed by Tyler Hartman, mastered by Carl Saff (Grails, Young Widows), and features musical contributions from Ryan Hare (The Riot Oak), Ed Rosenberg III (Jerseyband, Glue Gun Optimism), Tim Byrnes (Hazel-Rah, Kayo Dot, Stern), Sarah Fylack (Beauchene Skulls), Marie Kim (Blank Paper), Dean Capper, Emily Peal (Pale Gloom, Westeryear), Michelle Silver (The Riot Oak), Arone Dyer (Buke & Gase), Chuck Stern (Stern), and Ron Varod (Kayo Dot, Psalm Zero).”

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!