Contact Us

The Young touring with Purling Hiss (who also have shows w/ Wilco & Blues Control) — dates

The Young at Bar 96 for the BV official SXSW showcase (more by Tim Griffin)
The Young

The Young will kick-off a round of dates in late May with a few shows in their native Texas including Chaos in Tejas. They leave the Lone Star state on a North American tour later in June. The dates include the NYC-area in triplicate, kicking off with Mercury Lounge on 6/27 (with Purling Hiss), continuing to Maxwell’s on 6/28 (with Purling Hiss) and ending at 285 Kent on 6/29. Tickets for Maxwells are on sale, while tickets for Mercury Lounge go on sale at noon on 5/2 and regular sale on Friday.

The shows are two of three in the area for Purling Hiss, who will also be on hand to support Blues Control at 285 Kent on 6/23 before heading out to snag dates with The Young. That June 23rd show will also feature appearances from Tonstartssbandht, Jordan Redaelli of Coconuts and DJ appearances from Brian Turner of WFMU and Paul Major of Endless Boogie. $10 gets you into this all-ages 8PM show. Purling Hiss is also heading out on the road with Wilco starting next week (but won’t play with them in Prospect Park).

All Purling Hiss and The Young dates are below, along with a stream of The Young’s recent 7″, “Don’t Hustle For Love” & “Why Feel Spooky?”. Look for their forthcoming LP Dub Egg next week and preorder your copy at Matador.

THE YOUNG – 2012 TOUR DATES
Friday, May 25 – Denton, TX – the Lion’s Den
Saturday, May 26 – Houston,TX – Walter’s on Washington with Balaclavas and slngs
Sunday, May 27 – Beaumont,TX – the Victoria House (2110 Victoria 77701) with Coma in Algiers and Cussins
Friday, June 1 – Austin, TX – Beauty Ballroom with No Age, Ceremony, Screaming Females, Gun Outfit and Joyce Manor
Saturday, June 9 – McAllen, TX – Simon Sez
Saturday, June 16 – Austin,TX – 29th Street Ballroom with Sungod and Spray Paint (Dub Egg Release Show)
Thursday, June 21 – New Orleans, LA – Siberia
Friday, June 22 – Atlanta, GA – Club 529
Sunday, June 24 – Richmond, VA – Strange Matter (with Purling Hiss)
Monday, June 25 – Washington, DC – the Black Cat (backstage) (with Purling Hiss) – Tickets
Tuesday, June 26 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s (with Purling Hiss)
Wednesday, June 27 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge (late show) (with Purling Hiss)
Thursday, June 28 – Hoboken, NJ – Maxwell’s (with Purling Hiss)
Friday, June 29 – Brooklyn, NY – 285 Kent (with TBA)
Saturday, June 30 – New Haven, CT – Intercambio (with Purling Hiss and Estrogen Highs)
Sunday, July 01 – Boston, MA – Plough and Stars (with Purling Hiss and Saralee)
Tuesday, July 03 – Montreal, QC – Casa del Popolo (with White Lung)
Wednesday, July 04 – Toronto, ON – the shop under Parts & Labour
Thursday, July 05 – Pittsburgh, PA – Gooski’s (with Kim Phuc)
Friday, July 06 – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class
Saturday, July 07 – Chicago, IL – the Hideout (with Judson Claiborne)
Sunday, July 08 – Minneapolis, MN – the Triple Rock
Monday, July 09 – Fargo, ND – the Aquarium
Wednesday, July 11 – the Fun House
Thursday, July 12 – Portland, OR – the East End
Friday, July 13 – Reno, NV – Holland Project
Saturday, July 14 – Oakland, CA – T.B.A. (with Spray Paint)
Sunday, July 15 – San Francisco, CA – the Hemlock
Monday, July 16 – Bakersfield, CA – Munoz Gym
Tuesday, July 17 – Los Angeles, CA – the Echo (with the Lamps and the Zig Zags)
Wednesday, July 18 – San Diego, CA – the Casbah
Thursday, July 19 – Phoenix, AZ – the Meat Market
Friday, July 20 – Las Cruces, NM – the Train Yard

PURLING HISS – 2012 TOUR DATES
MAY 10 Arkansas Music Pavilion w/ WILCO Fayetteville, AR
MAY 11 Sloss Furnace w/ WILCO Birmingham, AL
MAY 12 Thalia Mara Hall w/ WILCO Jackson, MI
MAY 14 David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts Tampa, FL
MAY 15 The Fillmore Miami Beach w WILCO Miami Beach, FL
MAY 16 St. Augustine Amphitheatre w/ WILCO St. Augustine, FL
MAY 19 Mud Island Amphitheatre w/ Wilco Memphis, TN
JUN 23 285 Kent w/ Blues Control, Brooklyn, NY
JUN 24 Strange Matter w/ THE YOUNG Richmond, VA
JUN 25 The Black Cat w/ THE YOUNG Washington DC
JUN 26 Johnny Brenda’s w/ THE YOUNG & FAR OUT FANGTOOTH Philadelphia, PA
JUN 27 Mercury Lounge New York, NY
JUN 28 Maxwell’s w/ THE YOUNG Hoboken, NJ
JUN 30 Intercambio w/ THE YOUNG New Haven, CT

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!