Contact Us

Tortoise announce new album & tour (dates, new song stream)

by Andrew Sacher

photo by Andrew Paynte
Tortoise

Genre-defying post rockers Tortoise will release their first album since 2009 and seventh overall, The Catastrophist, on January 22 via Thrill Jockey (pre-order). The album features a cover of David Essex’s 1973 hit “Rock On” with vocals by U.S. Maple/Dead Rider‘s Todd Rittmann and a song called “Yonder Blue” with vocals by Yo La Tengo‘s Georgia Hubley. You can check out the hyponotic, almost-eight-minute lead single “Gesceap,” below. Album art and tracklist below too.

Tortoise will support the new album on a 2016 tour, which comes to NYC for two shows. First they play Le Poisson Rouge on March 16 and then Littlefield on March 17. Tickets for LPR and Littlefield are on sale now.

All dates are listed below…

Tortoise

Tracklist:
1. The Catastrophist
2. Ox Duke
3. Rock On
4. Gopher Island
5. Shake Hands With Danger
6. The Clearing Fills
7. Gesceap
8. Hot Coffee
9. Yonder Blue
10. Tesseract
11. At Odds With Logic

Tortoise — 2016 Tour Dates
Sat. Jan. 23 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall [In The Round performance]
Sun. Jan. 24 – Milwaukee, WI @ Mad Planet
Sun. Feb. 7 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega Jr.
Mon. Feb. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Fabrik
Tue. Feb. 9 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain
Wed. Feb. 10 – Antwerpen, BE @ Trix
Thu. Feb. 11 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli
Fri. Feb. 12 – St. Gallen, CH @ Palace
Sat. Feb. 13 – Geneva, CH @ Antigel Festival
Sun. Feb. 14 – Zürich, CH @ Stall 6
Mon. Feb. 15 – Reutlingen, DE @ Franz.K
Tue. Feb. 16 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
Wed. Feb. 17 – Budapest, HU @ A 38
Thu. Feb. 18 – Zagreb, HR @ Mochvara
Fri. Feb. 19 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv Club
Sat. Feb. 20 – Rome, IT @ Monk Club
Sun. Feb. 21 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia Club
Wed. March 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Cedar Cultural Center
Fri. March 11 – Ann Arbor, MI @ The Blind Pig
Sat. March 12 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Sun. March 13 – Montreal, QC @ Fairmount
Mon. March 14 – Northampton, MA @ Iron Horse
Tue. March 15 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Wed. March 16 – New York, NY @ (Le) Poisson Rouge
Thu. March 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Littlefield
Fri. March 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Sat. March 19 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Sun. March 20 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Southern
Tue. March 22 – Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall
Wed. March 23 – Newport, KY @ Southgate House Revival
Thu. March 24 – Indianapolis, IN @ Radio Radio

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!