Contact Us

TWIABP detail new album ‘Harmlessness,’ share new single “January 10th, 2014″ (watch the video + a new PBTT video)

by Andrew Sacher

TWIABP Harmlessness

First a split with Rozwell Kid, then a two-song single on Topshelf, and now The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid to Die have announced details for their sophomore LP and first for Epitaph, Harmlessness. It’s due out on September 25 via their new label home (pre-order), and it features lead single “January 10, 2014,” which is out now. TWIABP vocalist David Bello has this to say about the new single:

‘January 10th, 2014′ is a song about retaliation against predators. The character in the song, Diana, is based on the story of a woman from Ciudad Juarez, Mexico who avenged unprosecuted and largely ignored sexual assaults being committed by bus drivers on their routes. The video replaces the real life Diana with Dianic Wiccans who protect themselves using hexes and their own spirituality. The male character in the video is a predator, and therefore must be destroyed.

Sonically, TWIABP continue their streak of combining late ’90s emo with mid ’00s chamber pop, and those styles are both in full effect here. It’s the kind of song you could easily imagine coming out on either Polyvinyl, Saddle Creek or Arts & Crafts at any point in the last decade. Watch the video (via NPR) and check out the album tracklist below. That’s the artwork above.

The band’s lineup is always revolving, and for this album it’s David Bello – vocals, Josh Cyr – bass, Derrick Shanholtzer-Dvorak – guitar & vocals, Steven Buttery – drums, Chris Teti – guitar & trumpet, Tyler Bussey – guitar, Katie Shanholtzer-Dvorak – keyboards, vocals, and Greg Horbal – guitar (who is no longer a live member).

The band’s tour with their Epitaph labelmates Pianos Become the Teeth, plus Turnover and Take One Car, hits NYC on August 22 at Le Poisson Rouge. Tickets for that show are still available.

PBTT also recently put out a video for “Ripple Water Shine” off last year’s excellent Keep You. Watch that, with the list of tour dates and TWIABP video/tracklist, below…

TWIABP – Harmlessness Tracklist:
1. You Can’t Live There Forever
2. blank #11
3. January 10th, 2014
4. The Word Lisa
5. Rage Against the Dying of the Light
6. Ra Patera Dance
7. Mental Health
8. Wendover
9. We Need More Skulls
10. Haircuts for Everybody
11. Willie (For Howard)
12. I Can Be Afraid of Anything
13. Mount Hum

TWIABP — 2015 Tour Dates
Aug 10 Indianapolis, IN – Hoosier Dome*
Aug 11 De Kalb, IL – The House Café*
Aug 12 Detroit, MI – The Shelter*
Aug 13 Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom*
Aug 14 Buffalo, NY – The Waiting Room*
Aug 15 Lancaster, PA – Chameleon Club*
Aug 16 Washington, DC – Rock & Roll Hotel*
Aug 18 Pawtucket, RI – The Met*
Aug 19 Burlington, VT – Artsriot*
Aug 20 Worchester, MA – The Palladium*
Aug 21 Asbury Park, NJ – Asbury Lanes*
Aug 22 New York, NY – Le Poisson Rouge*
Oct 31 Gainesville, FL – The Fest

* – w/ Pianos Become the Teeth, Turnover, Take One Car

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!