Contact Us

updated Wavves & Best Coast tour dates w/ 2 NYC shows, a Target Christmas song & stuff

Wavves @ Fun Fun Fun Fest 2010 (more by Tim Griffin)
Wavves

Guster, Chief Xcel of Blackalicious, Darker My Love, Natalie Hemby, Crystal Antlers, Bishop Allen, Jenny O, Little Jackie, Ceci Bastida, and “Best Coast, Wavves” have contributed new songs to a Target Christmas album which is currently streaming at Target’s site (a download of the songs is “coming soon”). Maybe the two bands will perform the song live when they collaborate on stage during their 2011 tour together. Best Coast’s Bethany Cosentino told SPIN:

“We’re both in summery California bands and I think by doing the tour in winter, we’re bringing summer to places where it’s fucking freezing,” she says. “We’ve been talking about what we want the vibe to be — we want it to be a beach-themed sort of thing, but we’re still brainstorming.”

Cosentino and Williams haven’t planned all details of their sets yet — Wavves are currently touring in Europe — but she says fans can definitely expect some on-stage collaborations between the acts. “I’m sure we’ll end up doing some songs together,” she says. “We were joking that the whole show should be a Wavves-Best Coast jam, but everyone would probably just want a refund if we did that.”

Williams also promises there will be a special, limited-edition piece of merch for sale. “I can’t say what it is but it’s definitely cool,” he says. “I think we’re also gonna breed cats before the shows and sell them at the merch table.”

That tour kicks off on 1/21 on their home coast which is also where it ends on 2/26. Along the way they hit, as previously mentioned, Webster Hall on 2/2. They’ll also be at the smaller Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn one day later. Tickets for both NYC shows are now on AmEx presale. Regular sale starts Friday at noon.

No Joy, who you maybe caught during CMJ, opens almost every show on the tour.

Other upcoming shows for Best Coast include two dates with Weezer, and EIGHT shows in FOUR DAYS at the SAME LAS VEGAS HOTEL (the new Cosmopolitan). Not sure what that is all about, but all dates are listed below…


Wavves, Best Coast & No Joy tour dates
Fri 01.21.11 San Diego, CA Soma
Sat 01.22.11 Tempe, AZ The Clubhouse
Mon 01.24.11 Dallas, TX Granada Theater
Tue 01.25.11 Austin, TX Emo’s
Wed 01.26.11 New Orleans, LA House of Blues
Thu 01.27.11 Tallahassee, FL Club Downunder
Fri 01.28.11 Athens, GA 40 Watt Club
Sat 01.29.11 Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle
Mon 01.31.11 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Tue 02.01.11 Philadelphia, PA Starlight Ballroom
Wed 02.02.11 New York, NY Webster Hall
Thu 02.03.11 Brooklyn, NY Music Hall of Williamsburg
Fri 02.04.11 Boston, MA Paradise Rock Club
Sat 02.05.11 Montreal, QC Cabaret Mile End
Sun 02.06.11 Toronto, ON Phoenix Concert Theatre
Tue 02.08.11 Chicago, IL Lincoln Hall
Wed 02.09.11 Chicago, IL Lincoln Hall
Thu 02.10.11 Milwaukee, WI Turner Hall Ballroom
Fri 02.11.11 Minneapolis, MN Varsity Theater
Sat 02.12.11 Omaha, NE The Waiting Room
Mon 02.14.11 Boulder, CO Fox Theatre
Tue 02.15.11 Salt Lake City, UT Urban Lounge
Thu 02.17.11 Vancouver, BC The Rickshaw Theatre
Fri 02.18.11 Victoria, BC Sugar Nightclub
Sat 02.19.11 Portland, OR Hawthorne Theater
Thu 02.24.11 Los Angeles, CA The Music Box (no No Joy)
Sat 02.26.11 San Francisco, CA The Grand Ballroom at Regency Center (no No Joy)


more Wavves tour dates
Tue 03.08.11 Brisbane (AU) Zoo
Wed 03.09.11 Sydney (AU) Manning Bar
Fri 03.11.11 Perth (AU) The Bakery
Sat 03.12.11 Victoria (AU) Golden Plains Festival
Mon 03.14.11 Melbourne (AU) Corner Hotel

more Best Coast tour dates
Sat 11/20/10 Georgetown University, Washington DC
Fri 11/26/10 Gibson Amphitheatre Universal City CA w/ Weezer
Sat 11/27/10 Gibson Amphitheatre Universal City CA w/ Weezer
Nov 29 – Ruby Lounge Manchester, Manchester, UNITED KINGDOM
Nov 30 – Glee Club Birmingham, Birmingham, UNITED KINGDOM
Dec 1 2010 – Scala London, UNITED KINGDOM
Dec 3 – Noveau Casino Paris, Paris, FRANCE
Dec 4 – Mascotte Zurich, Zurich, SWITZERLAND
Dec 5 – Atomic Café Munich, Munich, GERMANY
Dec 7 – MTC Cologne, Cologne, GERMANY
Dec 8 – AB Club Brussels, Brussels, BELGIUM
Dec 10 – ATP Presents Bowlie 2 Minehead, Minehead, UNITED KINGDOM
Dec 12 – Bitterzoet Amsterdam, Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS
Dec 13 – Beatlemania Hamburg, Hamburg, GERMANY
Dec 14 – Magnet Berlin, Berlin, GERMANY
Dec 15 – Debaser Malmo, Malmo, SWEDEN
Dec 16 – Debaser Stockholm, Sweden, SWEDEN
Wed 01/05/11 Book & Stage – The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas Las Vegas NV (2 sets)
Thu 01/06/11 Book & Stage – The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas Las Vegas NV (2 sets)
Fri 01/07/11 Book & Stage – The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas Las Vegas NV (2 sets)
Sat 01/08/11 Book & Stage – The Cosmopolitan Las Vegas Las Vegas NV (2 sets)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!