Contact Us

VICE signs King Khan & the Shrines, new album, MP3

DOWNLOAD: King Khan & The Shrines – Torture (MP3)
King Khan and the Shrines

Speaking of big bands, VICE signings and Deerhunter shows…..



VICE Records is proud to announce the signing of the 12-piece psychedelic soul big band explosion King Khan and The Shrines, and the release of The Supreme Genius of King Khan and The Shrines on June 17. Nothing will get you ready for sunburn season quicker than a blast of this garage soul inferno, equal parts Lenny Kaye-era Nuggets, James Brown soul revue and Sun Ra freak session. Sexual voodoo, secret societies and hallucinogenic transcendence all conspire over rampant garage-psych riffs and Muscle Shoals horns with the blue-eyed tear drops and desperate wail of King Khan testifying like a true motherfucker.

Joining King Khan and the Shrines line-up includes 60 year old Chicagoan Ron Streeter (live-percussionist for Curtis Mayfield, Stevie Wonder, and many other Soul legends), and a horn section consisting of Simon Wojan (the mastermind behind Kranky Records recording artists Cloudland Canyon), Ben Ra (Germany’s John Coltrane), and famous French rockabilly saxophonist Big Fred Rollercoaster. The rhythm section of the Sensational Shrines has been called “a German/French version of the Freak Brothers”.

Originally sighted in Montreal’s Spaceshits, and sometimes appearing as the semi-naked half of the King Khan & BBQ Show, King Khan moved to Berlin in 1999 where he and the Shrines have been spreading their love like peanut butter through a flurry of full-lengths, EPs, singles, and hard-to-find vinyl releases. Their first album THREE HAIRS & YOU’RE MINE was produced by Liam Watson at the legendary Toe Rag Studios in London and released in 2002. A second full-length, MR. SUPERNATURAL, followed in 2004. Their third full-length WHAT IS?! received critical acclaim all over the world and landed at #33 in Pitchfork’s Top 50 Albums of 2007. In between have been French-only releases, a split with the Dirtbombs, 7″s, 10″s, and more. The Supreme Genius of King Khan and The Shrines collects the cream of this very creamy crop and present the greatest hits of his greatest hits, all available for the first time ever in America.

Look for the first-ever King Khan and The Shrines US tour this July and August. Dates to come.

1. Torture
2. Took my Lady to Dinner
3. (How Can I Keep You) Outta Harms Way
4. Land of The Freak
5. Fool Like Me
6. I Wanna Be A Girl
7. Welfare Bread
8. Sweet Tooth
9. Shivers Down My Spine
10. Burnin’ Inside
11. Destroyer
12. Live Fast Die Strong
13. Crackin´ Up
14. Tell Me
15. Que Lindo Sueno
16. No Regrets

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!