Contact Us

Wand announce new album ‘1000 Days’ on Drag City, share “Stolen Footsteps,” touring this fall (dates, streams)

by Bill Pearis

IMAGE

Like their pal Ty Segall, LA’s Wand keep busy. They just released their second album, Golem, in March and they’ve just announced that their third, 1000 Days, will be out in September. This will be their first for Drag City and, while Wand are known for rippers, they stretch out here for a more nuanced sound, embracing thick, warm analog synths and acoustic guitars (as well as a variety of stomp boxes). “Stolen Footsteps,” the first taste of 1000 Days, has a pastoral vibe that owes more than a little to Eno’s Another Green World. It’s a good one and you can stream it below.

Wand will be on tour for much of 2015’s second half, including an extensive North American trek, and anybody who has seen the band in the last year can tell you they’re absolutely worth catching. They’ll stop in NYC for two shows: November 13 at Mercury Lounge and November 14 at Rough Trade. Tickets for both NYC shows go on sale Friday (7/10) at noon.

You may have seen Wand frontman Cory Hanson in NYC recently, opening for a couple of Ty Segall’s acoustic shows. All Wand tour dates are listed, along with 1000 Days‘ artwork/tracklist and the “Stolen Footsteps” stream, below…

Wand 1000 Days

WAND – 1000 Days tracklist
01. Grave Robber
02. Broken Sun
03. Paintings Are Dead
04. Dungeon Dropper
05. Dovetail
06. 1000 Days
07. Lower Order
08. Sleepy Dog
09. Stolen Footsteps
10. Passage Of The Dream
11. Little Dream
12. Morning Rainbow

Wand – 2015 Tour Dates
Fri. July 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ MOCA
Wed. July 29 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar Music Hall
Fri. July 31 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Sat. Aug. 1 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Fri. Aug. 14 – Saint Malo, FR @ Route du Rock Festival
Tue. Aug. 18 – Haarlem, NL @ Pastronaat Café
Wed. Aug. 19 – Luxembourg, LU @ Exit 07
Thu. Aug. 20 – Brussels, BE @ Homeplugged (house show)
Fri. Aug. 21 – Charleville-Meziere, FR @ Cabaret Vert festival
Sat. Aug. 22 – Trondheim, NO @ P Stereo Festival
Sun. Aug. 23 – Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Thu. Aug. 27 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Fri. Aug. 28 – Paris, FR @ Rock En Sein Festival
Sat. Aug. 29 – Geneva, CH @ L’Usine
Tue. Sept. 1 – Zurich, CH @ Kinski Club
Thu. Sept. 3 – Lisbon, PT @ Lux Fragil
Fri. Sept. 4 – Vlieland, NL @ Into The Great Wide Open Festival
Sat. Sept. 5 – Maastricht, NL @ Bruis Festival
Sun. Sept. 6 – Larmer Tree Gardens, Dorset, UK @ End Of The Road Festival
Mon. Sept. 7 – Bristol, UK @ The Exchange
Tue. Sept. 8 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Wed. Sept. 9 – London, UK @ Electrowerks Upstairs
Thu. Sept. 10 – Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Fri. Sept. 11 – Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Sat. Sept. 12 – Birmingham, UK @ Rainbow House
Sun. Sept. 13 – Le Havre, FR @ Le Tetris
Mon. Sept. 14 – Tilburg, NL @ Incubate Festival
Tue. Sept. 15 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Wed. Sept. 16 – Helsinki, FI @ Kuudes Linja
Thu. Sept. 17 – Antwerp, BE @ Trix club show
Fri. Sept. 18 – Angers, FR @ Levitation Festival
Sat. Sept. 19 – Leffinge, BE @ Leffingeleuren Festival
Mon. Sept. 21 – Barcelona, ES @ BAM Festival
Sat. Oct. 31 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom w/ Mac DeMarco
Sun. Nov. 1 – Seattle, WA @ Narwhal
Tue. Nov. 3 – Missoula, MT @ The Real Lounge
Thu. Nov. 5 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Entry
Fri. Nov. 6 – Iowa City, IA @ Witching Hour Festival
Sat. Nov. 7 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Tue. Nov. 10 – Toronto, ON @ Adelaide Hall
Wed. Nov. 11 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz
Thu. Nov. 12 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East (upstairs)
Fri. Nov. 13 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge
Sat. Nov. 14 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
Sun. Nov. 15 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Mon. Nov. 16 – Asheville, NC @ Tiger Mountain
Wed. Nov. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ 529
Thu. Nov. 19 – Memphis, TN @ Hi Tone
Fri. Nov. 20 – New Orleans, LA @ Siberia
Sat. Nov. 21 – Austin, TX @ Red 7 (inside)
Sun. Nov. 22 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace
Tue. Nov. 24 – Tucson, AZ @ Solar Culture
Wed. Nov. 25 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!