Contact Us

watch Ty Segall’s explosive “Break a Guitar” video ft. Fred Armisen, Jack Black & Henry Rollins

ty-segall-break

When you make a video for a song called “Break a Guitar,” there is a certain audience expectation for guitars to get broken. Thankfully, director Matt Yoka delivers with the video for Ty Segall‘s song of that name (from this year’s self-titled LP). Specifically, guitars get blown up, in slow motion, and are then morphed, along with some other stuff, into a psychedelic whirpool. There are cameos from Fred Armisen, Jack Black and Henry Rollins, plus a coda that is not for the squeamish. A very cool video, and you can watch it below.

Ty Segall and his Freedom Band are going on a North American tour in the Spring, where they’ll play three nights at Brooklyn’s Warsaw in May.  Updated dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Ty Segall – 2017 Tour Dates:
Sat. May 6—Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy & Harriet’s
Mon. May 8 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar
Wed. May 10 – Tulsa, OK @ Cain’s Ballroom
Thu. May 11 – Indianapolis, IN @ Irving Theater
Sat. May 13 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Sun. May 14 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Wed. May 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Thu. May 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Fri. May 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw
Sat. May 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero Theater
Sun. May 21 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater
Mon. May 22 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall
Thu. May 25 – Nashville, TN @ Mercy Lounge
Fri. May 26 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jack’s
Sat. May 27 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre
Sun. May 28—El Paso, TX @ Neon Desert Festival
Mon. May 29 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Pressroom
Tues. June 2—Thu. June 4—San Francisco, CA @ Colossal Clusterfest
Fri. July 21—Sun. July—Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Fest
Fri. Aug. 4 – Sun. Aug. 6 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Thu. Aug. 3—Vancouver, BC @ The Vogue Theatre
Thu. Aug. 17—Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Fri. Aug. 18 — Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Sat. Aug. 19—Paredes de Coura, PT @ Festival Paredes de Coura
Sun. Aug. 20—Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock Festival
Wed. Aug. 23 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Grå Hal
Thu. Aug. 24 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Aug. 25—Mezieres, FR @ Le Cabaret Vert Charleville
Sun. Aug. 27—Paris, FR @ Rock En Seine
Tues. Aug. 29—Biarritz, FR @ Atabal
Wed. Aug. 30—Toulouse, FR @ Le Bikini
Thu. Aug. 31 – Miranda De Ebro, ES @ Ebrovisión Festival
Fri. Sep. 1—London, UK @ The Coronet
Sat. Sep. 2.—Larmer Tree Gardens UK @ End of The Road Festival

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!