Contact Us

Weird Al Yankovic wrote a kids book, touring (dates)

Weird Al at Fun Fun Fun Fest (more by Tim Griffin)
Weird Al

Weird Al Yankovic‘s oddball humor, video snippets, and near infinite costume changes will be on the road this year. Al is playing a string of dates in Australia in March followed by a set of East Coast dates in middle May. Those dates include a stop at Monmouth University and one at Bergen Performing Arts Center in Englewood, NJ on May 21st (tickets are not on sale yet).

Earlier this month Al, who is not romantically linked to Lisa Kudrow, released… a children’s book called “When I Grow Up.” Earlier this week he read the book to kids at a school

“Today we will be reading a book by my favorite author — me,” he said.

“When I Grow Up,” which is illustrated by Wes Hargis, is a story about 8-year-old Billy who, for show-and-tell, recites a list of career possibilities that includes gorilla masseuse, rodeo clown and professional pickle inspector. The purpose of the book is to encourage kids to do what they love, said Yankovic, who has a degree in architecture.

After reading the story, Yankovic fielded questions from students.

He revealed he’s an admirer of Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein, astronaut Neil Armstrong, band leader Spike Jones, satirist Allan Sherman and “the first person to drink milk.” He talked about his early job as an accordion repo-man.

All Yankovic tour dates and some videos below…


“Weird Al” Yankovic – The Paul McCartney Interview

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Money For Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies

Weird Al Yankovic – The Saga Begins

book trailer

WEIRD AL YANKOVIC – 2011 TOUR DATES
Tue Mar 8, 2011 Christchurch, NZ Isaac Theatre Royal
Thu Mar 10, 2011 Adelaide, AU Thebarton Theatre
Sat Mar 12, 2011 Canberra, AU Royal Theatre
Mon Mar 14, 2011 Gold Coast, AU Jupiter’s Showroom
Tue Mar 15, 2011 Brisbane, AU Queensland Perf. Arts Center – QPAC
Thu Mar 17, 2011 Newcastle, AU Civic Theatre
Fri Mar 18, 2011 Sydney, AU Enmore Theatre
Sat Mar 19, 2011 Sydney, AU Enmore Theatre
Mon Mar 21, 2011 Perth, AU Burswood Theatre
Wed Mar 23, 2011 Melbourne, AU Palais Theatre
Fri Mar 25, 2011 Hobart, AU Wrest Point
Thu May 19, 2011 West Long Branch, NJ Monmouth University
Fri May 20, 2011 Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre
Sat May 21, 2011 Englewood, NJ Bergen Performing Arts Center
Tue May 24, 2011 Verona, NY Turning Stone Resort & Casino
Thu May 26, 2011 Marion, OH Marion Palace Theatre
Fri May 27, 2011 Mt. Pleasant, MI Soaring Eagle Casino
Wed Sep 14, 2011 Spokane, WA Spokane County Interstate Fair
Thu Sep 15, 2011 Puyallup, WA Northwestern Concert Center

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!