Contact Us

Yumi Zouma share new single; former Selebrities singer Maria Usbeck readies solo LP (stream 2 songs)

Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma‘s debut album, Yoncalla, is out May 27 via Cascine and it’s light, R&B-tinged synthpop in the best possible way: airy without dissolving into the ether, with memorable songs and perfect understated production. It’s the kind of unassuming (in a good way) record you can let repeat happily. The album’s opening cut, “Barricade (Matter of Fact),” is a great example of what Yumi Zouma do so well and you can stream it below.

As mentioned, Yumi Zouma’s tour hits NYC for a record release show on May 28 at National Sawdust. Tickets for that show are on sale now.

Some of Yumi Zouma’s U.S. shows are with Maria Usbeck, who used to front Brooklyn band Selebrities and will also release her solo debut, Amparo, via Cascine in the U.S. on May 27 (Labrador Records in the rest of the world). The album was produced by Chairlift’s Caroline Polachek and is lush pop (harp and xylophone feature prominently), sung mostly in Spanish (her native tongue). You can stream two tracks from the LP below.

YUMI ZOUMA – 2015 TOUR DATES:
Wed. May 4 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (w/ Doprah)
Thu. May 5 – Dunedin, NZ @ Re Fuel (w/ Doprah)
Fri. May 6 – Auckland, NZ @ The Crystal Palace (w/ Doprah)
Sat. May. 7 – Wellington, NZ @ Meow (w/ Doprah)
Wed. May 25 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick + Mortar (w/ Maria Usbeck)
Thu. May 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Los Globos (w/ Maria Usbeck)
Sat. May 28 – Brooklyn, NY @ National Sawdust (w/ Maria Usbeck)
Thu. June 2 – Boston, MA @ Middle East (Upstairs)
Wed. June 8 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. June 10 – Montreal, QC @ Brasserie Beaubien
Sat. June 11 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Tue. June 21 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Wed. June 22 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephémère
Thu. June 23 – Amsterdam, NL @ Sugar Factory Small Hall
Fri. June 24 – Berlin, DE @ Karrera Klub Birthday Bash at Bi Nuu
Mon. September 12 – Tokyo, Japan @ WWW
Tues. September 13 – Nagoya, Japan @ Tokuzo
Weds. September 14 – Osaka, Japan @ Pangea

maria-usbeck-lp

AMPARO / TRACKLISTING
1. Isla Magica
2. Moai Y Yo
3. Llamame
4. Camino Desolado
5. Uno De Tus Ojos
6. Ciudad Desnuda
7. Playa Escondida
8. Lapislazul
9. Jungla Inquieta
10. Tarantula

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!