Dizzee Rascal with MErcury Prize The shortlist for the 2006 Mercury Music Prize has been announced. The winner is to be revealed on 5 September and will be presented with a cheque for £20,000. You can find out more about the nominated artists and hearing their music by clicking on the links below." [BBC]

2005 Antony and the Johnsons – I Am A Bird Now
2004 Franz Ferdinand – Franz Ferdinand
2003 Dizzee Rascal – Boy in Da Corner
2002 Ms. Dynamite – A Little Deeper
2001 PJ Harvey – Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea
2000 Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast
1999 Talvin Singh – Ok
1998 Gomez – Bring It On
1997 Roni Size/Reprazent – New Forms
1996 Pulp – Different Class
1995 Portishead – Dummy
1994 M People – Elegant Slumming
1993 Suede – Suede
1992 Primal Scream – Screamadelica

Ms Dynamite with MErcury Prize "Twenty years from now, some all-mighty critic will sit down and come up with a list of The Best/Most Influential/Most Important British Records From 1992-2005. Maybe five of these records will make the cut. None of them in the top three. (The top three being, of course, The Bends, OK Computer and Hail to the Thief.)" [pop (all love)]

THIS YEAR'S NOMINEES (with odds of winning)
5:1 Arctic Monkeys - Whatever People Say I Am That's What I''m Not
5:1 Thom Yorke - The Eraser
6:1 Muse - Black Holes And Revelations
6:1 Guillemots - Through The Windowpane
6:1 Editors - The Back Room
8:1 Richard Hawley - Coles Corner
8:1 Sway - This Is My Demo
8:1 Hot Chip - The Warning
10:1 Lou Rhodes - Beloved One
10:1 Scritti Politti - White Bread Black Beer
10:1 Zoe Rahman - Melting Pot
10:1 Isobel Campbell and Mark Lanegan - Ballad Of The Broken Seas
(Odds via Stereogum)

"OMM is distraught that Lily Allen is not on the albums of the year shortlist."