The Long List for the 2019 Polaris Music Prize — Canada’s annual award for a great album — has been announced. The 40 album list includes PUP - Morbid Stuff, Fucked Up - Dose Your Dreams, Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated, Operators - Radiant Dawn, Orville Peck - Pony, Voivod - The Wake, Dilly Dally - Heaven, The Dirty Nil - Master Volume, Sandro Perri - In Another Life, and more.

To qualify, the Canadian albums had to be released between May 1, 2018, and May 31, 2019. They'll whittle the longlist down to 10 for the Short List which will be announced July 16, and then the 2019 Polaris Prize will be given out September 16 at the gala ceremony in Toronto. Check out the full Long List below. Who do you think will win this year?

The 2018 Polaris Music Prize went to Jeremy Dutcher's Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa.

2019 Polaris Music Prize Long List:
Tim Baker - Forever Overhead
Tanika Charles - The Gumption
Clairmont The Second - Do You Drive?
Charlotte Cornfield - The Shape of Your Name
Marie Davidson - Working Class Woman
Dilly Dally - Heaven
The Dirty Nil - Master Volume
Dizzy - Baby Teeth
Elisapie - The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
FET.NAT - Le Mal
Dominique Fils-Aimé - Stay Tuned!
Fucked Up - Dose Your Dreams
Yves Jarvis - The Same But By Different Means
Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated
Kaia Kater - Grenades
Kimmortal - X Marks the Swirl
La Force - La Force
LAL - Dark Beings
Laurence-Anne - Première apparition
Salomé Leclerc - Les choses extérieures
Lee Harvey Osmond - Mohawk
Jean Leloup - L'étrange pays
Shay Lia - Dangerous
Les Louanges - La nuit est une panthère
Loud - Tout ça pour ça
Shawn Mendes - Shawn Mendes
Haviah Mighty - 13th Floor
Operators - Radiant Dawn
Orville Peck - Pony
Sandro Perri - In Another Life
PUP - Morbid Stuff
Lee Reed - The Steal City EP
Jessie Reyez - Being Human In Public
Shad - A Short Story About a War
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - Trapline
Alexandra Stréliski - Inscape
sydanie - 999
Voivod - The Wake
Wintersleep - In The Land Of

More From Brooklyn Vegan