Brooklyn band Grooms quietly called it quits back in 2018 and, not too long after, frontman Travis Johnson and drummer Steve Levine formed Activity, rounding out the band with guitarist Jess Rees (Russian Baths) and bassist Zoë Browne (Field Mouse). With a sound not entirely dissimilar from the disquieting, alien post-punk of the last two Grooms albums, Activity add more electronics to the mix giving them a distinct, weirder feel. They made their live debut just over a year ago and have now announced their debut album, Unmask Whoever, which will be out March 27 via Western Vinyl.

First single "Calls Your Name" features eerie synths, a glitchy rhythm and lyrics inspired by C.S. Lewis's 1945 novel The Great Divorce. The video, which the band directed, has a distinct David Lynch tone, from the buzzing electricity heard in the opening shot, through the creepy forest scenes and general weird vibe You can watch that below.

Activity have a few shows coming up, including two in Brooklyn: February 27 at Union Pool with Parlour Walls, and then a record release show on April 2 at Baby's All Right. They'll also play DC, Richmond and Philly in April. All dates are listed below.


Activity - Unmask Whoever tracklist
1 - In Motion
2 - Calls Your Name
3 - Spring (Low Life)
4 - Nude Prince
5 - Looming
6 - Earth Angel
7 - Heartbeats
8 - I Like the Boys
9 - Violent and Vivisect
10 - Auto Sad

Activity - 2020 Tour Dates:
02/27: Brooklyn, NY - Union Pool
04/02: Brooklyn, NY - Baby's All Right (Release Party)
04/16: Washington, DC - Rhizome
04/17: Richmond, VA - Fuzzy Cactus
04/18: Philadelphia, PA - Ortlieb's

More From Brooklyn Vegan