Against Me!'s Laura Jane Grace has surprise-released a new solo album -- her first for Polyvinyl -- called Stay Alive. Some background:

Laura Jane Grace wasn’t planning on making a solo record this year. In fact, she was planning on making a record with Against Me!, the band she’s fronted for the past 23 years. But clearly, nothing went according to plan this year. “We came home from the Against Me! tour we were on in March, and right before we left, we had been in the studio working on songs, and I had been working on them for months prior,” says Grace. As she sat at home, all of her tours canceled, and the members of Against Me!—as well as her other band Laura Jane Grace & The Devouring Mothers—spread across the country, she was left with a batch of songs and no band to record them with.

“I sat around for a month-and-a-half at a home just being shellshocked being like, ‘What the fuck happened and what the fuck is happening with the world?’ As I started to get my bearings, I just came to the realization that waiting was going to kill the record and kill the songs. I spent two years working on all these songs, and the idea of throwing them away didn’t sit well with me,” says Grace. “But then I was like, ‘What am I waiting for?’ All I have to do is adjust my scope. I can sit here on my fucking ass and do nothing, or I can work.”

So, Grace got to work. She picked up the phone and called Electrical Audio, the iconic studio in her adopted hometown of Chicago, Illinois, to ask if she could make a record with famed engineer Steve Albini. The goal was to go in and document these songs exactly as she’d been playing them in her home, straight to analog tape. When she hung up the phone, she had four days booked.

You can stream the whole thing below and pick up a copy (and read more about the album) at Polyvinyl's website.

While you can't see her live in person right now due to the coronavirus, of course, Laura is playing a virtual show from an empty venue, Chicago's Lincoln Hall, on Saturday, October 17 at 9 PM ET (8 PM CST). It's part of Audiotree's STAGED series, and tickets are on sale, including album bundles.

1. The Swimming Pool Song 01:53
2. The Calendar Song 02:19
3. Shelter In Place 01:58
4. Return To Oz 01:50
5. The Mountain Song 03:01
6. SuperNatural Possession 02:04
7. Hanging Tree 02:20
8. Please Leave 01:51
9. Why Kant I Be You? 02:32
10. Ice Cream Song 01:42
11. The Magic Point 01:45
12. Blood & Thunder 02:05
13. So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Fuck Off 01:37
14. Old Friend (Stay Alive) 02:17

More From Brooklyn Vegan