JB Dunckel, who is one half of French synth duo Air, will release a new solo album, Carbon, on June 24 via Prototyp Recording. The album explores ideas of humankind's place and insignificance in the grander scheme of the cosmos, and the element that is a building block of all life on earth. “When you burn it, it doesn’t go away,” he says of carbon. “It’s full of strength – diamonds are crystallized carbon. Carbon is the thing that makes you solid. It’s the most important thing in our bodies and in our lives, but we’re hardly aware of it.”

The first single from the album is "Corporate Sunset," a motorik prog groover that tips its hat to Neu! and other komische groups. Thematically, JB says it's about how “big corporations are changing the world and what they propose could be paradise. That song is optimistic but big tech companies are more likely to bring us hell. They’re more powerful now than any country – they’re the new kings.”

Listen to "Corporate Sunset" below.


Carbon Tracklist
1. Spark
2. Corporate Sunset
3. Space
4. Shogun
5. Zombie Park
6. Dare
7. Sex UFO
8. Cristal Mind
9. Naturalis Principia Musica

More From Brooklyn Vegan