Alex Lahey is come a long way since releasing her 2017 debut album I Love You Like A Brother (one of our favorites of that year). She's played increasingly bigger stages and sharpened her live show, and now she has announced a new album and released the very promising lead single. It's called "Don't Be So Hard On Yourself," and it's mostly cut from the same cloth as her debut album (and the EP before it), but more refined and with one of the biggest hooks she's ever written. Plus: sax! Listen and watch the video (written and directed by Callum Preston) below.

The album is called The Best of Luck Club and it comes out May 17 via Dead Oceans (pre-order). Alex wrote the album in Nashville and said the album's thesis and title were inspired by the city's dive bar scene, and she recorded it in her hometown of Melbourne with producer Catherine Marks (who's worked with Manchester Orchestra, St. Vincent, and more). Alex played almost every instrument on the album herself, including the saxophone, the instrument she studied while at school for music. Artwork, tracklist, and list of tour dates (all in Australia) below.

Alex Lahey Best of Luck Club

01. I Don’t Get Invited to Parties Anymore
02. Am I Doing It Right
03. Interior Demeanour
04. Don’t Be So Hard On Yourself
05. Unspoken History
06. Misery Guts
07. Isabella
08. I Need To Move On
09. Black RMs
10. I Want To Live With You

Alex Lahey -- 2019 Tour Dates
Thu. June 6 - Adelaide, AU @ The Gov
Fri. June 7 - Perth, AU @ Rock Rover
Thu. June 13 - Brisbane, AU @ The Tivoli
Fri. June 14 - Canberra, AU @ The Basement
Sat. June 15 - Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre
Sat. June 22 - Melbourne, AU @ Forum Melbourne

More From Brooklyn Vegan