Andrew W.K. has shared details of his first album in nine years. It's titled You're Not Alone and will be out March 2 via RED/Sony. He's also shared the first single, "Music Is Worth Living For," which is just the kind of bombastic rock anthem you'd expect. We'll let Andrew tell you about it:

‘Music Is Worth Living For’ is an exaltation of my love for music itself. It’s also me pleading with myself to recognize music’s eternal power and glory, in the face of hardship and pain. The song is an effort to remind myself that life is worth living, if for no other reason than because of the beauty music conveys. Music is a mysterious phenomenon - it seems both to magically overwhelm and sublimate our suffering, but also to starkly dignify the struggles of our daily life. The physical power of music must be coming from some sort of unshakable truth, sent from the primal core of all being. It’s so effortless and elegant in its intensity. I truly believe that listening to music can transform you into a better person. In that way, all my songs have been me just trying to get better, trying to cheer myself up, trying to convince myself that there is hope and joy in the world no matter how dark it may seem. And the lyrics of this song, especially in the verses, are me calling out my own interior negative forces - the lowest and darkest impulses inside me, that wish to hold me down in despair - and I’m telling those malevolent urges once and for all that they won’t break me. I will persevere. And when I triumph, somehow, someday, it will be because of music. This song is a celebration of that essential and divine life-force that music is both emanating from and emitting to us. This song is about how good music makes it feel to not be dead. As the last line of the chorus proclaims, ‘Music makes me want to stay alive.’ That’s probably the truest lyric I’ve ever written.

Listen to "Music Is Worth Living For," and check out the LP's tracklist, below.

You can catch AWK on tour this spring. North American dates so far are festival appearances, including Boise, ID's Treefort Music Fest and Atlanta's Shaky Knees. All dates are listed below.

Andrew WK - You’re Not Alone tracklist
1. The Power of Partying
2. Music Is Worth Living For
3. Ever Again
4. I Don't Know Anything
5. The Feeling of Being Alive
6. Party Mindset
7. The Party Never Dies
8. Give Up On You
9. Keep On Going
10. In Your Darkest Moments
11. The Devil's On Your Side
12. Break The Curse
13. Total Freedom
14. Beyond Oblivion
15. Confusion and Clarity
16. You're Not Alone

Andrew WK - 2018 Tour Dates
March 21, 2018 - Boise, Idaho - Treefort Music Fest
April 13, 2018 - Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom - Great Hall
April 14, 2018 - London, United Kingdom - 02 Forum Kentish Town
April 15, 2018 - Birmingham, United Kingdom - 02 Academy
April 18, 2018 - Norwich, United Kingdom - Waterfront
April 19, 2018 - Portsmouth, United Kingdom - Wedgewood Rooms
April 20, 2018 - Manchester, United Kingdom - 02 Ritz
April 21, 2018 - Glasgow, United Kingdom - Garage
April 28, 2018 - Jacksonville, Florida - Welcome To Rockville
May 4, 2018 - Concord, North Carolina - Carolina Rebellion
May 5, 2018 - Atlanta, Georgia - Shaky Knees Festival
May 12, 2018 - Chicago, Illinois - The Vic Theatre
May 18, 2018 - Columbus, Ohio - Rock on the Range

More From Brooklyn Vegan