Norwegian pop artist Annie, who you may remember from mid-'00s blog hits like "Chewing Gum" and "Heartbeat," is gearing up to release Dark Hearts, her third album and first full length since 2009's Don't Stop. (She's released singles and EPs more recently.) In the interim she moved from Berlin back to Bergen, and has been busy with two kids while working on the album. “I did a lot of recording while I was pregnant, puking while I was singing," she says. "[Producer Stefan Storm] had to go out to buy me liquorice, but I still managed to do some quite good vocals.” Annie says Dark Hearts is “the best album I’ve done so far. All the tracks fit so perfectly together - the themes are right there.”

Dark Hearts is out October 16 but you can hear first single "American Cars," which throbs in a Chromatics kind of way, right now. "It was partly inspired by the David Cronenberg film Crash. It was 2pm and the only other people in the cinema were two old men, a mum and her screaming baby, and sixteen-year-old me. It was quite a strange experience," she says (seeing Crash is arguably a strange experience in any setting). "The film is about pushing it to the edge. When you’re looking for something dark you don’t necessarily know why you’re doing it. But you’re pushing the boundaries. You can fall, or almost fall, but you climb back.”

Listen to "American Cars," and check out the album art and tracklist, below.

annie-dark hearts

Dark Hearts tracklist:
1. In Heaven
2. The Streets Where I Belong
3. Dark Hearts
4. Miracle Mile
5. Corridors of Time
6. Forever ’92
7. American Cars
8. Mermaid Dreams
9. Stay Tomorrow
10. The Countdown to the End of the World
11. The Bomb
12. The Untold Story
13. It’s Finally Over

More From Brooklyn Vegan