UPDATE (1/19): A new song is here!

Arcade Fire at Voodoo Fest 2016 - Sunday
Arcade Fire at Voodoo Fest 2016 (more by Andy Sawyer)

There was already some speculation that Arcade Fire's followup to 2013's Reflektor would be out this year, and it looks like we may be one step closer to that, and another extensive tour. In a new interview with Red Bull Poland, drummer Jeremy Gara gave some insight (via Google Translate):

Have you chosen already the order of the songs on the new album Arcade Fire?
Gara: (Laughs) No, not yet, but they are all recorded. The album should be out this year. We are still at the stage of mixing and decide which songs will come at all on the record, because we made them a little more than we need. But we’re almost done. I do not know when it will come, I hope that soon. I know we’re a popular band, but we hold to keep the same principle: record until we feel that the music is ready.

In that case you would not want to go on a long tour?

Gara: Of course. Unfortunately, this is difficult, because Arcade Fire, for obvious reasons, is a very important part of my plans and is in addition quite mysterious (Laughs) I do not know where we play, I do not know when we start, or when we finish. From my perspective, it looks like the Arcade Fire [tour] begins in April and ends somewhere around April 2019.

If the tour starts in April, does that mean the album will be out around then? At the moment, Arcade Fire only have spring/summer European festivals announced, starting with Barcelona's Primavera Sound in June. All dates are listed below.

In some more concrete news, the band is releasing The Reflektor Tapes/Live at Earls Court on DVD/Blu-ray on January 27 (pre-order). Disc 1 is their 2015 documentary The Reflektor Tapes and disc 2 is their June 4, 2014 performance at Earls Court in London. So far they've released the videos for "Reflektor" and "The Suburbs" from the live concert, and you can check those out below. Tracklist below too.

Jeremy Gara is also continuing to work on his solo career and will play Big Ears Fest this March. Jeremy also drums for his AF bandmate Tim Kingsbury on Tim's debut album as Sam Patch, Yeah You, And I, which comes out this February.

"The Reflektor Tapes": Documentary
"Live At Earls Court":
1) Reflektor
2) Flashbulb Eyes
3) Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)
4) Rebellion (Lies)
5) Joan Of Arc
6) Rococo
7) The Suburbs
8) Ready To Start
9) Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)
10) Neighborhood #2 (Laika)
11) No Cars Go
12) Haiti
13) We Exist
14) My Body Is A Cage
15) Afterlife
16) It's Never Over (Oh Orpheus)
17) Sprawl II
18) Normal Person
19) Here Comes The Night Time
20) Wake Up


Arcade Fire -- 2017 Tour Dates
Jun 03 Primavera Sound Barcelona, Spain
Jun 10 Isle of Wight Festival Newport, United Kingdom
Jun 17 Best Kept Secret Festival Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands
Jun 19 INmusic Festival Zagreb, Croatia
Jun 24 Roskilde Festival Roskilde, Denmark
Jun 29 Rock Werchter Werchter, Belgium
Jul 09 Eurockéennes Festival Belfort, France
Jul 11 Ahoi! The Full Hit of Summer Linz, Austria
Jul 15 Vieilles Charrues Carhaix Plouguer, France

More From Brooklyn Vegan