Baby Dee

When Baby Dee insists that her life is "incredibly boring," one has to wonder what she's comparing it to. After all, the fifty-something, classically-trained musician has ridden a large tricycle across Europe while playing the harp, has been an elevator operator, a construction worker, a go-go girl, and for a while a circus freak - billed as a "bilateral hermaphrodite" - at Coney Island.

"It was lovely there," she recalls of Coney Island. "That whole venture was about turning the tables on people. I'd been living in that transitional hell of being gawked at in public. The sideshow taught me that when you're on stage -- or up high on a tricycle -- you can get away with things that could get you killed anywhere else." [GayWired]

Baby Dee plays with Dorit Chrysler at Knitting Factory in NYC on October 3rd. Tickets are on sale. All dates below...

Baby Dee - 2008 Tour Dates
Sat Sept 13 North Dorset, UK Larmer Tree Gardens / End of the Road Festival
Mon Sept 29 Buffalo, NY Soundlab
Wed Oct 1 Montreal, QC, Canada Ukranian Federation
Thu Oct 2 Cambridge, MA The Lily Pad
Fri Oct 3 New York, NY Knitting Factory
Sun Oct 5 Washington, DC National Museum of Women in the Arts
Mon Oct 6 Charlottesville, VA Gravity Lounge
Tue Oct 7 Newport, KY Southgate House
Thu Oct 9 Chicago, IL Hideout
Tue Oct 14 Kansas City, MO Record Bar
Thu Oct 16 Houston, TX Orange Show
Fri Oct 17 Fort Worth, TX Fort Worth Modern Art Museum
Sun Oct 19 New Orleans, LA One-Eyed Jacks
Fri Oct 24 Atlanta, GA Eyedrum
Sat Oct 25 Knoxville, TN The Pilot Light
Fri Nov 21 Vienna, Austria Bluebird Festival