Baroness Purple

Baroness have announce their new album is titled Purple and will be out December 18 via the band's newly-formed Abraxan Hymns label. That is part of the album cover, above. (The band haven't shared the whole thing yet.) This will be the first record the band have made since 2012's Yellow & Green and the tour bus accident that happened not long after the album's release. The album was produced by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, MGMT) and you can stream the nearly seven-minute, soaring "Chlorine & Wine" from it below.

The album is the first to feature Baroness' new rhythm section, as drummer Allen Blickle and bassist Matt Maggioni left the band after the bus accident. Frontman John Baizley said this about the new album:

After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate. We wanted to write with our normal focus on artistry, balanced against an increased level of energy and focus. It was important for us to write our new songs with the type of enthusiasm and expressiveness that could act as a counterpoint to the album's dark themes. As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy and sonically captivating in a new way, which was important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine. Purple is the most fully realized representation of our intention as a band; considering the amount of physical and mental energy spent writing it, we have accomplished something which would have seemed impossible to us a couple of years ago.

No word on tour dates yet. You can check out "Purple's full tracklist, below.


Baroness - Purple tracklist:
01 Morningstar
02 Shock Me
03 Try to Disappear
04 Kerosene
05 Fugue
06 Chlorine & Wine
07 The Iron Bell
08 Desperation Burns
09 If I Have to Wake Up (Would You Stop the Rain)
10 Crossroads of Infinity