BC Camplight will be release new album Shortly After Takeoff on April 24 via Bella Union. It's the third in his "Manchester" trilogy, which also includes 2015's How to Die in the North and  2018's Deportation Blues, and Brian "BC" Christinzio says it's “a hard look at mental illness, loss, and human spirit. It will love you back.”

The first single is “Back to Work” which vacillates between a weird, heavy electronic chorus and a more folk-rock-y verses, while lyrically dealing with getting on with it in a Die Hard kind of way: “I’ve gotta block out most of the pain just / like John McClane does / I wanna look myself in the eye / be a normal guy / and say some clever shit whenever I’m about to die.” Says BC, “The verse seems to make sense, then out of nowhere, boom boom…just when you think you have it figured out… It’s the never-ending cycle of mental illness.” It's also a pretty cool song, listen below.

BC has also announced November 2020 UK tour dates, those are listed below.


Shortly After Takeoff tracklist:
1 . I Only Drink When I'm Drunk
2 . Ghosthunting
3 . Back To Work
4 . Cemetery Lifestyle
5 . I Want To Be In The Mafia
6 . Shorly After Takeoff
7 . Arm Around Your Sadness
8 . Born To Cruise
9 . Angelo

11/17/2020 – Bristol - Trinity Centre
11/18/2020– Birmingham - The Glee Club
11/19/2020 – Newcastle - Newcastle University Student’s Union
11/23/2020 – Glasgow - St. Luke’s
11/24/2020 - Nottingham - Rescue Rooms
11/26/2020 - London - O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
11/27/2020– Manchester - O2 Ritz

More From Brooklyn Vegan