Big Ears has expanded the programming of its 2020 edition. Among the additions:

  • Patti Smith will now be performing two shows: one with her band and a "Words & Music" performance featuring readings and acoustic songs.
  • Led Zepplin's John Paul Jones has added a solo performance in addition to the Sons of Chipotle duo with cellist Anssi Karttunen
  • Meredith Monk will premiere two pieces: a duo with John Hollenbeck and the  "Memory Game" collaboration with Bang on a Can
  • Marc Ribot & Ches Smith are presenting "Haitian Celebration" with Minwi Sonnen and We All Break
  • There will also be solo performances from Jason Moran, Caroline Shaw, Chris Abrahams, Anssi Karttunen, Kim Myhr, Zeena Parkins, and Ingar Zach

Previously announced Big Ears artists include Can's Damo Suzuki, Thundercat, Fennesz, Devendra Banhart, A Winged Victory for the Sullen, Damo Suzuki of Can, Mdou Moctar, mssv (Mike Baggetta, Stephen Hodges, Mike Watt), Efterklang, Tindersticks, MÚM, Nivhek (Grouper's LIz Harris), Bell Orchestre, The Necks, Terry Riley, Sudan Archives, Jaimie Branch, and much more.

Big Ears 2020 happens March 26-29 in Knoxville, TN. Passes are are on sale. Check out the whole Big Ears 2020 lineup as it stands, below.

Big Ears 2020 Lineup
75 Dollar Bill
A Winged Victory for the Sullen
Andrew Cyrille
Anja Lechner
Annette Peacock
Anssi Karttunen
Anthony Braxton
Areni Agbabian
Arooj Aftab’s Vulture Prince Ensemble
Astrid Sonne
Aurora Nealand & the Royal Roses
Bang on a Can All-Stars
Bell Orchestre
Ben Lamar Gay Quartet
Caroline Shaw
Caterina Barbieri
Che Apalache
Ches Smith
Chris Abrahams
Christian Scott
D. Scot Williams
Damo Suzuki Network with the Sound Carriers
Dan Weiss Starebaby
Daniel Pioro & Valgeir Sigurðsson
Devendra Banhart
Diamond Curtain Wall Trio
Dos Santos
Electric Appalachia (William Tyler, Mary Lattimore, Eric Dawson of TAMIS)
Ensemble Dal Niente + Ken Vandermark
Gyan Riley
Gyda Valtysdottir
Harriet Tubman
Ingar Zach
Jacob Kirkegaard
Jaimie Branch's Fly or Die
Jason Moran & the Harlem Hellfighters
Jeff Parker and the New Breed
Joe Henry's 115th Dream
John Hollenbeck
John Paul Jones
Josephine Foster
Joshua Abrams & Natural Information Society
Kim Myhr
Kronos Quartet
Marc Ribot
Maurice Louca
Mdou Moctar
Meredith Monk
Minwi Sonnen
Moonlight Benjamin
mssv (Mike Baggetta, Stephen Hodges, Mike Watt)
Myra Melford's Snowy Egret
MZM (Miya Masaoka, Zeena Parkins, Myra Melford)
Nadah El Shazly
Natalie Joachim
nief norf
Patti Smith
Paul Lazar's Cage Shuffle
Peter Brötzmann
Sam Gendel Concert Group
Sarah Davachi
Saul Williams
Shabaka and the Ancestors
Sō Percussion
Sonja Labianca
Sons of Chipotle (John Paul Jones & Anssi Karttunen)
Sokratis Sinapoulos
Sound for Andy Warhol's KISS (Kim Gordon, Bill Nace, Steve Gunn, John Truscinski)
Spektral Quartet
Steve Coleman and Five Elements
Sudan Archives
Terry Riley
The Claudia Quintet
The Haden Triplets
The Necks
Theremin Noir (Rob Schwimmer, Uri Caine, Mark Feldman)
Thunder Music Ensemble
Xylouris White
Zeena Parkins

More From Brooklyn Vegan