Bill Callahan's great 2019 album Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest was his first in six years, but he's already announced his next album will be out soon. It's titled Gold Record and will be released September 4 via Drag City. Bill made the album with guitarist Matt Kinsey and bassist Jaime Zurverza, and was born out of rehearsals for the Sheepskin Vest tour and includes songs he'd been sitting on for a while, and some new ones, and a new version of Smog's "Let’s Move to the Country." Six of the 10 were were first takes and were all "meant for other people to sing." but Bill's singing them himself here.

No track has been released off the record yet, but Drag City will be releasing a song from it every Monday starting June 29. Stay tuned. Meanwhile, check out the tracklist and artwork below.

bill callahan gold record

Bill Callahan - Gold Record tracklist:
01 Pigeons
02 Another Song
03 35
04 Protest Song
05 The Mackenzies
06 Let’s Move to the Country
07 Breakfast
08 Cowboy
09 Ry Cooder
10 As I Wander

Check out photos from Bill Callahan's 2019 show at White Eagle Hall:

More From Brooklyn Vegan