Black Marble (aka Chris Stewart) will release new album Bigger Than Life, his first album for Sacred Bones, on October 25. (Preorder.) It's the first record Stewart has made since moving from NYC to Los Angeles and he says the album "comes out of seeing and experiencing a lot of turmoil but wanting to create something positive out of it.” That positivity, and perhaps the California climate, comes through in bouncy, catchy first single "One Eye Open" that has Stewart's vocals a little more forward in the mix than we've heard before. He co-directed the song's video with Ben Pier and says "I wanted to make a video that used the city as a character as a way to sort of show what I’ve been seeing. " Watch that below.

While Black Marble haven't announced a full tour for Bigger Than Life, they do have a few shows lined up. They'll play the Substance Festival in Los Angeles on November 2, and Austin's Levitation on November 7, then a NYC record release show at Bowery Ballroom on November 22 with Automatic (whose debut album is coming out on Stones Throw in September). Tickets for Bowery Ballroom go on sale Friday (7/26) at noon.



Black Marble - Bigger Than Life tracklist:
1. Never Tell
2. One Eye Open
3. Daily Driver
4. Feels
5. The Usual
6. Grey Eyeliner
7. Bigger Than Life
8. Private Show
9. Shoulder
10. Hit Show
11. Call

Black Marble - 2019 Tour Dates
Nov 2 - Los Angeles, CA - SUBSTANCE at the Los Angeles Theater
Nov 7 - Austin, TX - Levitation at Empire Control Room
Nov 22 - Brooklyn, NY - at Bowery Ballroom (Record Release Show) w/ Automatic

More From Brooklyn Vegan