Underground rapper/producer Blueprint (of Greenhouse Effect, Soul Position, and a long-running solo artist) is releasing a new solo album, Two-Headed Monster, on May 22 via his own Weightless Recordings (pre-order). The album features appearances by Slug of Atmosphere, Aceyalone, Mr. Lif, Wordsworth, Supastition and Has-Lo, the latter of whom is on the new single "Hoop Dreamin," which premieres in this post. Here's what Blueprint says about it:

It was inspired by the classic documentary film, Hoop Dreams, which follows two kids from a rough part of Chicago who are trying to use basketball to make it out of their neighborhood. The focus of this song was to write about all many possible obstacles that people in those situations may see, show how the odds are stacked against them but that they also still dream about something bigger despite it. As a fan of Has-Lo's visual style of rhyming, I've wanted to work with him for a while and this song was the perfect opportunity for us to make something special.

With its minimal, head-nodding beat (made by Blueprint) and multisyllabic rhymes, the song should instantly appeal to fans of the kind of underground rap that Blueprint has made for years, and it still sounds fresh today. He and Has-Lo sound great together too. Listen and watch the video below.

01 Cleansing Process
02 Set it Off
03 Be Like Water
04 A Hero Dies Once
05 Don’t Look Back
06 Night Writers – featuring Slug and Wordsworth
07 Masterpiece
08 Health Is Wealth – featuring Supastition and Mr. Lif
09 Two Headed Monster
10 Pump-Faking
11 Good Guys Get Ignored
12 All Shock, No Value – featuring Aceyalone
13 Hoop Dreamin – featuring Has-Lo