Bonny Light Horseman -- the new indie folk rock trio of Anais Mitchell, Eric D Johnson (Fruit Bats), and Josh Kaufman -- released one of our favorite albums of the year so far with their self-titled debut album, which includes a mix of originals and drastic re-workings of traditional folk songs, and which came out on Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner's 37d03d Records and features both of them alongside Kate Stables (This Is The Kit), Lisa Hannigan, The Staves, Christian Lee Hutson, and more.

The band are now set to release a two-song single, Green/Green -- featuring "Green Rocky Road" and "Greenland Fishery," both of which were recorded during the same sessions as the album -- on August 7 via 37d03d. "[We] ended up cutting them at the last minute to keep the record simpler (and higher quality for vinyl)," explains Anais Mitchell. "We see the songs as a bit of a pair, they both feature Eric’s banjo playing and lean a little more ‘Americana.’ We’re glad they have a home on Green/Green and are grateful to be able to share music at a time when the world is hurting." "Green Rocky Road" is out now and it's instantly as appealing as anything on the album. Listen below.

Bonny Light Horseman are also one of the artists set to release an Elliott Smith cover in conjunction with the upcoming Elliott Smith reissue. And since we unfortunately won't be able to see them (or anyone else) on tour anytime soon, we recently posted great live footage of the band at Newport Folk Festival, where they played a handful of songs from their album and some other material too (including a cover of Tim Buckley's "Buzzin' Fly"). The Tallest Man On Earth also recently covered their song "The Roving" on a livestream.

Bonny Light Horseman is one of two new indie supergroups that Josh Kaufman is part of this year. The other is Muzz with Interpol frontman Paul Banks and The Walkmen drummer Matt Barrick.

More From Brooklyn Vegan