We already knew that mathcore legends Botch signed to Sargent House with plans to reissue their catalog on vinyl this year, but what we did NOT know, is that one of those reissues would come with the first new Botch song in over 20 years! Their second and final album, 1999's massively influential We Are The Romans, gets its 2XLP and CD reissue on November 4 via Sargent House (pre-order on transparent blue or standard black vinyl), and it comes with "One Twenty Two," an entirely new song written and recorded in the past couple years. Guitarist David Knudson (also of the now-defunct Minus the Bear) says:

During Covid, I was writing my debut solo LP, and mentally, I was sick of everything in quarantine. Lots of frustration had set in at home, and I figured the best way to deal with it was to write something heavy. I had no intention of writing anything for Botch, but when I was thinking of a singer to collaborate with, I thought, “Hey, I know the best hardcore singer ever to do it,” so I hit up Dave V. He was super excited and so it just kind of snowballed from there. There was never any intent or conversation about getting back together or writing. It just happened so naturally and was a great release for all of us to make it happen without any of the traditional pressure an “active” band faces.

That indeed sounds like a very organic and awesome way for such an iconic band to write their first new song in two decades, and "One Twenty Two" is a serious banger that stands tall next to Botch's classics. Those David Knudson riffs are unmistakably the work of no other guitarist on the planet, Dave Verellen's voice is full of rage, and the rhythm section of bassist Brian Cook and drummer Tim Latona is as thunderous as ever. It comes with a Dimitri Luedemann-directed video that finds the four-piece finally playing together in a room again, and you can check that out below.

No word yet on any more new music or any shows, but we're really hoping this is not the last we've heard from Botch.

Brian Cook's band Russian Circles also just released their new album Gnosis last week, and their upcoming tour hits NYC on November 6 at Warsaw.

Pre-order the We Are The Romans reissue on transparent blue or standard black vinyl. We've also got the original Hydra Head version of Botch's live album in our store, and we just added more Minus the Bear vinyl too.

UPDATE: Brian Cook has posted a lengthy statement about the new song and the potential of Botch's reunion continuing.

Botch Romans Reissue

We Are The Romans Reissue Tracklist
1. To Our Friends in the Great White North
2. Mondrian Was a Liar
3. Transitions from Persona to Object
4. Swimming the Channel Vs. Driving The Chunnel
5. C. Thomas Howell as the 'Soul Man’
6. Saint Matthew Returns to the Womb
7. Frequency Ass Bandit
8. I Wanna Be a Sex Symbol on My Own Terms
9. Man the Ramparts
10. One Twenty Two


15 '90s Metalcore Albums That Still Resonate Today

More From Brooklyn Vegan